Cinnamon Swirl Bread

Snow day!!  We got a little over 6 inches of snow today, it was beautiful!!  I didn’t really want to go out as the roads were kinda slippery, so I figured what better way to spend a beautiful,winter, snowy day then in the kitchen filling the house with the wonderful aroma of cinnamon bread.

I wanted to make something but i didn’t know what, and because I really couldn’t go any where I had to make do with the ingredients that were in the house.  luckily,  I tend to have a lot of baking supplies on hand, so I had quite a few options.

After searching a few food blogs I decided to go with Cinnamon Swirl Quick  Bread.  It was not made from one recipe in particular, I kinda mixed a few together.

Cinnamon Swirl Quick Bread

1/4 cup butter, softened ( I must have read it wrong, I put 1 cup!, still worked great)
1 1/3 cups sugar, divided
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. In a large mixing bowl, beat together butter, 1 cup sugar, and egg.
3. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  ** I added an extra heaping teaspoon of cinnamon into the batter, we like things very cinnamony here!**
4. Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture alternately with the buttermilk.
5. In a small bowl, combine the cinnamon and remaining 1/3 cup sugar.
6. Pour a third of the batter into a greased 8X4X2-inch loaf pan.

7. Sprinkle a third of the cinnamon sugar on top of batter.

8. Repeat layers twice.

9. Bake for 45-50 minutes, until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.
Cool in pan for 10 minutes.
Remove from pan to a wire rack to cool completely.
This was quite good.  I will definitely make it again.  Mind you next time I will omit the 3/4 of a pound of butter that I didn’t really need.

Leave a comment