Cupcakes, Cupcakes and more Cupcakes!

This weekend I had the honour of make the wedding cake for my  sister-in-law-to-be and her bride.  Months ago when Kristy and Selena asked me to do their wedding cake I was terrified!!!  To me the wedding cake is a huge deal, EVERYONE sees it, EVERYONE eats it, most people photograph it.  I see it as a huge part of the day.  I actually tried to talk them out of it because it was like nothing I had taken on before.  They assured me that they had faith in me and absolutely wanted me to do it.  I accepted the challenge.

Knowing that the cupcakes were going to be tasted by A LOT of people I got right to work testing recipes.   This is where everyone at work came into the equation.   Kris and Selena wanted a variety of flavours, chocolate peanut butter, vanilla, banana,  carrot and red velvet.  I tried 2-3 recipes for each flavour, (yes everyone at work had A LOT of cupcakes!!!) everyone at work tried them and gave feedback then the best ones were presented to Kris and Selena. The recipes and icings were picked and I nervously awaited the big day.

I live in Ontario and the wedding was in New Jersey so I was not able to bring familiar ingredients, only measuring spoons and cups and spatulas.   Friday was shopping day, struck off to Shoppe Rite to get almost everything I needed.   I was a little worried because a few things I have baked down there in the past didn’t turn out as they usually do.  I am not sure if it is the ingredients or the weather but I was hoping it would not be affected this time.

Selena had just gotten a Kitchen Aid Mixer just weeks before the wedding, I was thrilled because I didn’t have to lug KAM down.  I named hers KAMMIE cuz he was tiny 🙂

I feel in love with the splatter shield, I must get one!  Really cut down on the mess.

10:00 AM  Pulled all the ingredients out to get started…

No pictures as I usually do, I didn’t have time

11:00 PM Complete! 130 cupcakes and a layer banana cake

Red velvet with Cream Cheese Icing

Banana with Chocolate Icing

Vanilla with Chocolate Icing

Carrot with Cream Cheese Icing

Chocolate with Peanut Butter Icing

Banana Layer Cake with Butter Cream

They turned out quite well, visually, but I was still nervous about how they were all going to taste.

Now the big challenge, getting them an hour away all in once piece on the highways of New Jersey.   A major problem was averted, it was a very chilly day.  Usually it is hot as hell and humid in New Jersey, but I was lucky, so the icing stayed in tact.   When we arrived I opened the trunk holding my breath, all was well, I could breath again!  When it was time to take them into the hall…we were locked out!  We had to wait outside for 15 minutes for them to let us in.  Then I was trusting people I didn’t know to help carry them up a HUGE flight of stairs.  I was not calm until they were in the hands of the restaurant.  It was a stressful day, you would think it was me getting married lol

The restaurant displayed them beautifully!  They didn’t put them all out at once.

You would think at this point all would be fine, but I was a nervous wreck!  Usually if I make something I drop it off and I am not around when it is being eaten.  If they didn’t like how they tasted I would be devastated.

This was the stampede when they announced that the cupcakes were served…

They were a huge it!  Everyone loved them!  I finally relaxed!  One woman came up to me and told me how she is a huge fan of Red Velvet and has been buying it at a bakery in Brooklyn for years but mine was way better.  I was shocked.  She went on and on and on and said she just had to meet me and tell me.  I promised I would make her some when I came back down 🙂 That comment and others like it made all the work worth it.

This was brought to my attention the day after the wedding.  I had to take a picture of it 🙂

One of their  photographer took a picture of the other holding my cupcake and posted it on their Facebook wall…

This was the comment she put under the photo

 

I was truly honored to have been part of Kristy and Selena’s day and wish them a Life time of Love and Happiness!!!

8 thoughts on “Cupcakes, Cupcakes and more Cupcakes!

  1. Wow, wow, wow! So many cupcakes, so much work, you’re amazing! I know exactly how nervous you were (though I haven’t baked any wedding goods, I always bake stuff for my mom when she celebrates in her office) because that’s what I am when baking for some important celebration or so. The reviews you got all well deserved and they show how talented your are! Great job on this wedding!!

  2. Stopped by to thank you for hosting the Daring Baker challenge. I LOVED it, every bit of it. And kudos on the cupcakes. Well done indeed … what a super job!

  3. Erica –

    I just saw this posting on your blog and it had me laughing so hard! I wasn’t laughing AT you but more at the situation. Kris and I KNEW your cupcakes and cake for our wedding would be superb and the cake was wonderful! From what we hear, the cupcakes were fabulous…so much so that people were taking 3 or 4 cupcakes EACH!!

    We so appreciated all of your hard work and love that your goods were such a focal point of our day!!

    Thanks again!

    Love,
    Selena

  4. Hi Erica!!! I was laughing too after seeing my FB pic above. BUSTED! It is me, the “cupcake eating photographer” !! I meant every word about your cupcakes. The chocolate with peanut butter icing was sooooo yummy, you are very talented!! Selena and Chris are so lucky to have you and the cupcakes were such a special addition to their already awesome day!!!

Leave a comment