Rhubarb Cake

Every spring I see people get so excited over rhubarb, I just never understood it;  I can never remembering liking it.   As a small child my friends would pick it and dip it into a Styrofoam cup filled with sugar.  I tried to like it but ewww!!!  I didn’t even like it in pies, long story short…I hate rhubarb!…until now….

This cake was presented at work on Friday, I knew it was rhubarb and though, blaaaah, I’ll pass, but the crumb topping drew me in.  I figure I’ll try a very tiny piece and pick around the rhubarb.  Well that bite tuned in to quite a hefty piece.   It was delicious!!!  Gina was kind enough to share her recipe

Rhubarb Crumb Cake

Pre-heat oven 350 F

Ingredients

2 cups flour

1 1/4 cups white sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 cup sour cream

2 1/2 cups chopped fresh rhubarb

1/4 cup milk (this was my addition, added a little moisture)

Directions

1. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda and salt in medium bowl

2. Combine eggs and sour cream in a large bowl

3. Add dry ingredients to wet gradually, I added it in thirds and it worked well, add milk.   Stir in rhubarb

4. Spray a 9×13 inch pan with Pam and spread

Crumb Topping

This was quite possibly the best crumb topping I’ve ever had.  I am liked it so much I made half again more.  (My changes in brackets)

1 cup brown sugar ( 1 1/2 cups)

1/4 cup flour (1/2 cup)

1/4 cup soften butter (1/4 cup + 2 tbsp)

cinnamon (1 heaping tsp)

1. Combine

2. Mix to form crumb sprinkle over top of batter

Bake for approx. 45 minutes or until tester comes out clean

Let cool slightly and serve warm or room temperature

I don’t know what happens to the rhubarb in the baking process in this recipe, but it turns to heaven!  I tried the rhubarb while chopping, tried it with the sugar, NOPE still gross.   I served this cake on the weekend and everyone loved it!

Thanks Gina!

One thought on “Rhubarb Cake

  1. I LOVE rhubarb and almost all my baking at this time of year features it. Cakes and crisps are my favourite things to make with it. I think I need to try this cake next.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

