Butter Tart Tour – The Whistle Stop Cafe

482721_325435067584240_82109855_n

Stop #24 on the Butter Tart Tour was at The Whistle Stop Cafe in Peterborough.  I was not at the Whistle Stop Cafe, I got their tarts from the Butter Tart Taste Off.  I don’t know why I have not made it into The Whistle Stop, I pass by it several times a week.  They are better known for having over 100 different kinds of poutine.

The Tart

First Impressions – very big, looked kind of hard/tough

20150919_132621

20150919_132643

The Verdict

– crust was very tender, almost shortbread like nice flavour
– filling was very runny, sweet and seemed to taste of caramel
– 7/10

This was a good tart.  It was much better than it looked upon first impressions. I also picked up one of their raisin butter tarts, which I have not had yet.  When I get into Whistle Stop for some poutine, I will definitely have a tart for dessert.

Leave a Reply

