Cinnamon Raisin Beer Bread

IMG_7141

My first attempt at Beer Bread went so well, I decided to be adventurous!  I initially wanted to make cheddar, but I didn’t have cheese in the house.  After a short search through the baking cupboard I decided on Cinnamon Raisin!

When I say I was being adventurous, I mean it.  I never (very rarely) stray from a recipe.  I love how baking is such a precise science, follow a good recipe to a ‘tee’ and it will turn out.  I was a litte nervous about how it would turn out, but hoped for the best

 

Cinnamon Raisin Beer Bread

3 cups self rising flour
3 tbsp sugar
1 can beer
3 tbsp brown sugar + extra for sprinkling
1   tbsp cinnamon- divided
1 cup raisin
1/4 cup melted butter

Directions

1. Combine flour, sugar, brown sugar and 1/2 tbsp cinnamon

IMG_7104

2.  Add raisins

IMG_7106

3. Pour in beer

IMG_7110

4. Stir to combine.  Put half of the batter in a loaf pan

IMG_7114

5. Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon

IMG_7117

6. Top with remaining dough and sprinkle more brown sugar and cinnamon

IMG_7118

7.  Top with melted butter – bake at 375º F for approximately 1 hour

IMG_7120

Fresh from the oven

IMG_7124

Success! My goodness this was delicious!

IMG_7133

I think I am onto something with this beer bread.  Next I plan to do one with cheese!  Give it a try, so easy and so tasty!

Leave a Reply

