Beer Bread

Erica’s

Edibles

Turns

6!

IMG_7035

It’s my Blogaversary!  I know, I’m a nut!  Six year’s ago today I started Erica’s Edibles. It still boggles my mind that my blog has had almost 110,000 views!  Honestly, I thought it would just be my Mom and the people who run the Daring Bakers, just to see if I completed my monthly baking challenge.  I am hopelessly hooked to photographing food, mostly sweets, and blogging about it.  It annoys most people when I make them wait to try something, just so I can get a picture of it.  Many people think it is silly to blog about what I bake, but I enjoy it and that is all that matters!

This years blogaversary item may surprise some as it is not a treat at all.  I went with something I have been eying for quite a while, Beer Bread! Despite the fact that I hate beer and making bread, I am very intrigued by this.  I think it is the simplicity of the recipe that peaked my interest.  Apparently 3 ingredients are going to give me a delicious loaf of bread.  There were hundreds of different variations of the recipe I went with this one from Crunchy Creamy Sweet with a couple changes…

Beer Bread

3 c self-rising flour
3 Tbsp granulated sugar
12 oz. light beer, at room temperature (opened right before using)
1/4 cup melted butter

IMG_7005

Directions

1. Stir flour and sugar to combine

IMG_7007

2. Pour in beer

IMG_7009

 

3. Stir, just until combined

IMG_7015

4. Place in a bread pan

IMG_7020

5. Pour melted butter over top
This step was not in original recipe, but I saw several that did it, so gave it a whirl!

IMG_7022

6. Bake at 375 ºF for approximitly 1 hour or until toothpick comes out clean

It’s not finished yet, but if it tastes half as good as it smells i’ll be thrilled!

IMG_7023

7. Remove from oven and cool in pan 10 minutes

IMG_7024

It looks fabulous! The addition of the butter really spruces up the appearance with a crunchy exterior

IMG_7027

Not so patiently waiting, I wait till it is almost cool before trying it – because who doesn’t like warm bread?

IMG_7039

It looks and smells amazing!

IMG_7039

This was really good!  It is not like any bread I have had before, so I can’t compare it to anything.  It had a nice texture, dense like a sour dough, but not too heavy.  I was pleasantly surprised I didn’t taste the beer at all!

Mom had made a huge homemade chili so I joined her and Dad for supper, it was a lovely addition to a chili dinner!  They both loved it.

I will definitely make this again.  When searching for the recipe I saw many recipes had ‘add ins’ such as cheese, bacon, olives, cinnamon sugar, etc.  The possibilities are endless.  Now that I have tried the original I look forward to trying variations.  Finally happy with a loaf of bread I made.

A successful blogaversary treat!  I am a day late posting but better late than never.

I look forward to another year of blogging delicious (and sometimes, not so delicious) treats.

Thanks for following along 🙂

Erica

One thought on “Beer Bread

Leave a Reply

