Butter Tart Tour – Dooher’s Bakery

20150103_111049

The first Saturday of the new year, butter tarts seemed like a good idea.  My parents and grandparents joined me on a road trip to check out 3 stops on the tour.

Stop #20 on the Butter Tart Tour was at Dooher’s Bakery in Campbellford.   I have been to Dooher’s numerous times.  They have the most amazing homemade donuts.  My favourite is their Dutches, amazing!  They also have delicious muffins, breads and cinnamon buns, but I had never had their butter tarts.

The Tart

First impressions – unimpressive, crust looked pre made

IMG_6849

IMG_6856

 

The Verdict

– Crust tasted like frozen pie dough
– filling had a great texture consistency
– not sweet
– tasted corn syrupy
– would not have another
– 3/10

** not to say that others would not like them, just not what I am looking for.

I will stick to their donuts!

IMG_6857

Delicious!

IMG_6863

Leave a Reply

