Daring Bakers go Dutch

20141219_172448

For the month of December, Andrea from 4pure took us on a trip to the Netherlands. She challenged us to take our taste buds on a joyride through the land of sugar and spice by baking three different types of Dutch sweet bread

 

I’m baaaaaaaaaack!  It’s been so long since I have participated, but I am back and committed to being challenged each month.

I was excited to try this months Daring Bakers challenge because it was something I had never heard of, a Dutch Sweet Bread.  I know a few people right from Holland, so I wanted to make it for them, memories from home.

I picked the second recipe.

Kruidkoek

Original recipe in metric. Servings: 12 slices

4 cups (500 gm) all-purpose flour
1½ teaspoons (7 gm) baking powder
2½ cups (600 ml) (17-2/3 oz) (500 gm) brown sugar, firmly packed
2 teaspoons (10 gm) ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons (10 gm) ground nutmeg
2 cups (500 ml) milk

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to moderate 350°F and line a 30cmx12 cm (12“x5“)  baking tin with parchment paper.

2. Whisk flour, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg in a bowl

20141218_185713

3. Put the milk in a small saucepan and warm until it almost comes to a boil. Remove from the heat

20141218_184756

 

4. dd the sugar and whisk until the sugar has dissolved.

20141218_190218

5. Pour the milk mixture into the dry ingredients whisk (by hand or using a machine) until the batter is totally smooth.

20141218_190544

6. Pour into the baking tin and bake in a preheated moderate 350°F oven for 90 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean

20141218_190731

The aroma coming from the kitchen while this was baking was amazing! I could hardly wait to try it!

20141219_172344

20141219_172456

Well, I am not sure if I did something wrong (I followed the recipe to a tee) or if it is supposed to be like this, but it was awful!  It looks nothing like the photo in the example.  Its texture reminded me of what it would be like to chew on the yellow part of those green and yellow scouring sponges. YUCK!

I have yet to get it to my Dutch friends, I see them January 1st.  I will update and let you know what they think, but as for me, not a fan.

Thank you Andrea for a great challenge! Looking forward to next month!

2 thoughts on “Daring Bakers go Dutch

  1. I made a different recipe and thought it was quite good (it was the link at the bottom). This one had no egg and I did wonder how that would taste! Hmmm, never mind…welcome back! Better luck next year.

Leave a Reply

