Strawberry Pie

20140629_093126

It is a wonderful time of year here in Ontario, all of the fresh local fruit is hitting the farmers markets.  Due to the very long winter we had this year, the crops are a little later than usual.  I was quite pleased with this years strawberries, they were delicious!

With my new found talent of making pie crust I thought I would give Strawberry Pie a whirl.  I had never made one before, so why not, eh.

Having never made a strawberry pie I took to the web to look for a recipe.  After reading about 80 (quite literally) recipes and debates over how to thicken the pie, which I might add some people have very strong feelings about, I decided to just wing it.

 

My Strawberry Pie

Strawberries
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup caster sugar
1 tbsp, heaped corn starch
1/8 tsp salt
1 egg white
Your favourite pie dough

Directions:

1. I had no idea how many strawberries to use, so I used this many.  Just heaped the pie plate.

20140629_093324

2. Hull, wash and slice strawberries

20140629_094358

3. In a large bowl coat strawberries with 1/2 cup sugar.  Toss to make sure each berry is coated.

20140629_094448

4. Transfer to a sieve, for about a half hour, and allow some of the natural juices to drain – this makes for a less soupy pie

20140629_110336

5. Return berries to the large bowl, combine, corn starch, salt and castor sugar – stir well to coat berries

20140629_110610

6. Dump into your prepared pie dish

20140629_111324

 

7. Be creative and add a vented top to your pie.  I make them different every time.  Brush edges with egg whites to seal the crust.  Brush top crust and sprinkle with sugar, optional

20140629_112026

8.  Bake at 425ºF for 15 minutes.  Lower temperature to 350ºF for approximately 35 minutes or until crust is golden to your desired ‘doneness’

20140629_124309

 

Looks delicious!  This pie was for dessert when my grandparents came for dinner.  I was a bit nervous as I had never made one of these before and my Gramma used to make quite a few pies.  Poppa is a bit of a pie connoisseur, he loves his pie, so this one had some high standards to live up to.  I actually made a second dessert as back up in case this was a flop!

No flop here! This pie was as delicious as it looked.  Crust was perfectly flaky and tender.  The strawberry filling was great, it had a perfect consistency (according to Gramma).  Gramma said it was like the pies her Mom used to make, 🙂 Poppa said it was delicious and took the rest home.  I thought it was good. I am not a huge pie fan, or fruit in my dessert, but I ate a small piece so must have been good.   We were so into it, I forgot to take a picture after it was sliced!

One thought on “Strawberry Pie

Leave a Reply

