Raisin Pie, Again

20140704_130742

 

I have not posted in quite some time, not because I have not been baking but because I was without my laptop!  Man, that was rough!  It is amazing how much I rely on this thing.  Anyways, all back up and running and excited to post what I have made.

We have been experiencing some ridiculously hot weather of late, 35ºC+ and I do not have air conditioning, makes for a hot house when baking.  Luckily it cooled down for a few days and I was able to make a few treats.

I asked my Poppa what he would like and he requested his favourite (and mine), raisin pie.  As mentioned in the initial Raisin Pie post, the recipe is secret, but I tried something new with the crust so I posted again.

Now that I am good at making crust I don’t mind making pies at all, in fact it is kind of fun, it is a whole new world for me.

As nice as it looks I strongly dislike doing a lattice top on my pie.  Cutting all the strips the same, weaving and lining up…blah.  In an attempt to make it look nice and still have the ventilation needed I used a cookie cutter and just placed the dough randomly on top.  I made it close to Canada day so I went with the Maple Leaf.

20140704_122527

I also made a few tarts.  I wanted some of the pie, but hate giving away a pie with a few pieces out of it, just looks tacky, haha.  This seemed like a good solution.

20140704_122557

I love how it still bubbles right out of the oven

20140704_130717

Looks pretty good

20140704_130753

Tarts came out pretty good as well

20140704_130804

Filling was perfect

20140704_183450

Oh my goodness these were delicious!  The crust was bang on, tender and flaky.

Looking forward to the fresh fruit season, the pie possibilities are endless!!!

Leave a Reply

