Dump Cake

 

20140420_115642

Don’t let the name scare you away, it tastes much better then it sounds!

I remember years ago at a family holiday gathering someone brought Dump Cake, and I remember it being quite good.  Yesterday when I had a bit of an impromptu Easter dinner of hamburgers, hot dogs and Caesar salad and needed a quick and easy dessert.  Well, I didn’t actually need one, but I am always looking for an excuse to bake and this seemed like a good one.

I had a general idea of what went into the cake, but I went to the web in hopes I may find a recipe.  I was shocked to see Dump Cake is quite a popular item.  There are so many different varieties.  I stuck with the one I remembered.  Every recipe I found for this version was the same.

Dump Cake

1 20 oz can Cherry Pie Fill
1 20 oz can Crushed Pineapple
1 vanilla cake mix
1 cup butter
pecans

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350º F

2. Dump pineapple, juice and all, into a 9×13 baking dish.  (I searched here in Canada, and was unable to find a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, so I bought 2 and weight out the difference)

20140420_115932

3.  Dump Cherry Pie Fill over the pineapple

20140420_120309

 

4. Dump (notice where the name comes from?) cake mix, unprepared, right from the box, on top of the cherries

20140420_120658

 

20140420_120856

5. Add pecans, optional

20140420_121114

6. Top with sliced butter

20140420_121239

7. Bake for 45 mins to an hour, or until it is golden brown and fruit is bubbling

20140420_132214

8. Allow to cool, or till just warm and serve with vanilla ice cream.  Enjoy!

 

20140420_185907

 

This was not quite how I remembered it, but it was very good!  I remembered hers being more cake like, this one was more cobbler like.  The cherry and pineapple were lovely together and the pecans added a nice crunch.  The topping did have a bit of a crunch layer, but underneath was moist.

It was one of those recipes that after the first bite I wasn’t really sure if I even liked it.  But of course I continued to eat I seemed to like it more and more, so much so that I had a second helping later that evening.

I got rave reviews from everyone, so I guess I can call this one a hit!

Leave a Reply

