Lemon Poppyseed Biscotti

20140224_125849

I have been impressing myself lately.  Usually, I do not stray from a recipe, I do it exactly as is.  This is why I like baking, you follow the recipe and it turns out, it’s a science.  Well, I have become quite adventurous with biscotti.  I have finally found a ‘base recipe’ that I am able to play around with flavours.

This week I had numerous people asking for more biscotti, so I made 3 batches!  I made cherry almond, chocolate and lemon poppy seed.  A few weeks ago Mom asked about making lemon poppy seed ones, I initially shriveled up my nose and thought, ick! Who would make that?  Well it turns out quite a few people d0!  I was looking for a recipe and there were tones, I was pleasantly surprised.  After reading dozens of recipes I figured I would ‘wing it’ and hope for the best.

Lemon Poppy Seed Biscotti

2 1/2  cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tsp salt
1 cup ground almonds
4 large eggs
1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 tbsp (generous) lemon zest
2 tbsp poppy seeds

Directions:

1. Preheat oven 350ºF

2. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, salt, poppy seeds, lemons zest and ground almond,  set aside

20140224_091301

20140224_092017

3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine sugar, lemon juice and eggs.  Beat on high with whisk attachment until it holds a ‘ribbon’ for a few seconds. (approx 5 min)

IMG_6353

4.  Add flour mixture and mix on lowest speed until just combined

20140224_092454_LLS

5. Form into 3 even logs

20140224_092922

6. Bake until firm to the touch and golden, mine are usually 35 minutes

20140224_100120

7. Transfer to a wire rack and cool

8. Slice and turn to oven and back until desired hardness, mine were about another 25-30 mins, depends on the day

20140224_102247

9. Cool on a wire rack and enjoy!  Lasts a few weeks in a storage tin.  Tupperware and plastic bags will also work

20140224_130050

For me these were just OK.  Everyone else said they really liked them.  The texture was great, but I found them lacking in flavour but, admittedly in previous post, I am a bit of a lemon freak, when I have something lemony I want a punch of lemon, not a hint.  I think another reason I wasn’t a huge fan is, they really were not that sweet.  That being said, I still ate them! haha.

Next week I will try something new!

Leave a Reply

