Oatmeal Raisin Biscotti

IMG_6369

Here we are back at the biscotti!  I really, really wish Mike had not asked me to make those biscotti for him a few years ago, because I just can’t stop!!! It’s not just me, I have a lot of the family hooked as well.  I have been making 2 batches every other weekend.  I have been getting a little more adventurous with my biscotti, now that I have a good base to go with.  This time I wanted to try something completely different, oatmeal raisin!  I was inspired by this recipe Oatmeal and Raisin Biscotti

Oatmeal Raisin Biscotti

2 1/2  cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup ground almonds
4 large eggs
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup almonds

Directions

1. Preheat oven 350ºF

2. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and ground almond, and set aside

IMG_6343

3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine sugar and eggs.  Beat on high with whisk attachment until it holds a ‘ribbon’ for a few seconds. (approx 5 min)

IMG_6347

IMG_6353

4. Add oats, mix on low until just combine

IMG_6355

5. Add raisins and almonds, stir until just combined

IMG_6356

IMG_6358

6. Form into 3 equal logs and bake until firm to the touch, approx 35 mins

IMG_6362

IMG_6367

7. Allow to cool.  Slice and turn to oven and back until desired hardness, mine were about another 25-30 mins, depends on the day

IMG_6370

8. Allow to cool on a wire rack – enjoy!  Stores very well for weeks (if they last that long) in a tin

IMG_6378

These were delicious!!! I really liked the cinnamon raisin combination.  The oats really did not come though as much as I had thought.  Might try grinding them up and use in place of the ground almonds.

I will definitely be making these again.  I stepped out of my comfort zone (straying from a recipe) and it worked!  Very inspired to try more new flavours!

Leave a Reply

