Toffee Chocolate Bars

Erica’s Edibles

Turns

5!

IMG_6428

It’s my blogaversary! Silly, I know, but I like to make something on the anniversary of the day I started my blog.  I honestly did not think I would be still blogging 5 years later.  I figured it would be something fun to do for a few months as I posted about my baking adventures with the Daring Bakers.  I have been slacking on my Daring Bakers participation, I need to get back to that!
This years blogaversary treat is Toffee Chocolate Bars.  I saw a picture of these bars on Pinterest a while ago and thought they looked sinful!  They had to be delicious!  This seemed like the perfect occasion 🙂

Toffee Chocolate Bars

Adapted from Robin Hood

3/4 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar – packed
1 cup flour
1 can Eagle Brand Milk
2 T butter
1 pkg Chocolate Chips
1 pkg Toffee Chips

1. Preheat oven 350ºC

2. Combine butter, sugar and flour

IMG_6387

The original recipe said to ‘cream’ the ingredients.  Mine did not cream, this is as good as it got, more of a crumble…

IMG_6388

3. Press into a 9×13 inch pan and bake until golden, approx 20 min.  Set aside on a wire rack to cool

IMG_6394

4. Heat Eagle Brand Milk and 2 tbsp of butter on medium heat in a heavy sauce pan.  Heat until thick 5-10 min (mine did not thicken, but was starting to burn so I stopped after 8 min).  I panicked when it started to burn and forgot to get a picture haha

IMG_6393

5. Pour over crust

IMG_6397

6. Bake until golden, approx 15 minutes

IMG_6398

7. Sprinkle with chocolate chips and bake for 2 more minutes until chips are soft

IMG_6402

8. Spread chocolate

IMG_6405

9. Sprinkle with toffee bits – press down slightly

IMG_6412

10. Allow to cool – may need to chill

IMG_6410

These were delicious!

IMG_6417

Everyone loved these!  They were sinfully sweet and delicious!  I really liked the base layer – the brown sugar really brought a simple crust to a new level.  It was not crunchy but firm enough to hold up without breaking or crumbling.  The soft filling and the crunch of the toffee really complemented each other.

This is one of those treats that make your mouth water, literally!  With each bite it seemed to get better and better.  I simply could not stop!  After 4 squares I had to give them away in fear that I would eat the entire 9×13 pan.

I would definitely make these again, but next time I would use 2 cans of Eagle Brand milk to make the filling that much gooier!

One thought on “Toffee Chocolate Bars

Leave a Reply

