OCC #4

IMG_6334

As promised, more baking in the new year!  I have revisited my OCC (Oatmeal Cookie Challenge) as I have yet to find my favourite.

I found this recipe at Give a Blonde a Kitchen.  They looked delicious so I thought I would give them a try!

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ cups old-fashioned oats
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon cinnamon
¾ cup unsalted butter, melted
1 ¼ cup packed brown sugar
¼ cup white sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 egg plus 1 egg yolk
1 cup raisins
½ cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)*

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325° F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper, set aside.

2. Melt butter and let cool slightly.

3. While butter is cooling, whisk together flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Set aside.

IMG_6299
4. In a medium bowl of a stand mixer, mix together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended.

IMG_6303

IMG_6304

5. Beat in vanilla, egg, and egg yolk for 2-3 minutes until light and creamy.

IMG_6306

Scrape down sides when necessary.

IMG_6308
6. Gradually add the flour oat mixture and mix until just blended.

IMG_6309

7. Stir in the raisins and nuts.

IMG_6313
8. Scoop about ¼ cup of dough and form into balls.

IMG_6316

Bake for 14-16 minutes.  The edges will look lightly browned and the centers soft.  Let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for 3 minutes  and then transfer to a cooling rack.

IMG_6320

IMG_6331

IMG_6338

I thought these cookies were ok.  I liked the flavour, but I found them to be quite dry.  They did not spread at all.  I’m all about a thick cookie, but these were still ‘ball shaped’. Everyone else said they really liked them, but to me they were just ok.  I won’t make them again.

The search continues….

One thought on “OCC #4

Leave a Reply

