Pistachio Cranberry Biscotti

IMG_6288

My name is Erica and I am addicted to biscotti!  There I said it! Now, how do I stop?

Over Christmas I made 3 batches of biscotti and had gotten quite used to having one, two, three OK, FOUR with my morning tea. Four, can you believe that? (hanging my head in shame).  Well, the holidays were over and back to work I went, back to routine, same ole, same ole.  I gotta say, starting the day without those FOUR biscotti is a lot harder than I anticipated!  And it is not just me, Mom and Poppa seem to be also hooked, they were both wondering when some more would be coming, haha!  Today I caved and made 2 batches, my usual Chocolate and a new one, Pistachio and Cranberry.  Poppa and I like the Chocolate, but Mom says they are ‘too sweet’, 2 words I have never spoken, but I aim to please.  I love the texture of the Chocolate ones I make so I got adventurous and tried to adapt it to what I was making.

Before we get started, let’s talk about pistachios!  I do love pistachios, especially the red ones.  I know they all taste the same, but just something about them, I like the red ones better.  I guess it is just more fun when your hands get all red and leave some evidence.

IMG_5872

IMG_5875

It is also kind of fun to eat them ,just like eating the peanuts that have not been shelled.  You aim to get it open on the first try, but inevitably there is that one, that does not have a crack and is impossible to break open with just your thumb!  The shell also slows you down, you have to work for the reward.  Which brings me to preparing the biscotti, boy did they slow me down!!  Opening a few and eating them is fun, opening enough to get a cup of them, not so much! It took me almost 20 minutes.  All I could think was, these better be good!

Pistachio and Cranberry Biscotti

Adapted from Fresh from the Oven

2 1/2  cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tsp salt
1 cup ground almonds
4 large eggs
1 cup pistachios
1 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, salt and almond powder, and set aside

IMG_6265

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine sugar and eggs.  Beat on high with whisk attachment until it holds a ‘ribbon’ for a few seconds. (approx 5 min)

IMG_6260

IMG_6262

3.  Now using the paddle, add the flour mixture and stir on lowest speed until just combined

IMG_6266

4. Add pistachios and cranberries – mix for a few seconds to combine

IMG_6268

IMG_5891

5. Evenly separate into 3 logs, on a lined cookie sheet

IMG_6270

6. Bake at 350ºC until firm to the touch – mine were about 35 minutes – transfer to a wire rack to cool, but not completely

IMG_6276

7. Slice and return to oven to desired ‘crunchiness’.  This can be tricky as they will harden up as they cool.  I like mine to be quite crisp, I cooked mine for about 25 more minutes. Will also depend on your oven.

IMG_5908

8. Return to wire rack until cool – best stored in a tin, but a plastic container will also work

Enjoy!

IMG_6283

These were delicious!  This was one of the very few times I veered off of a recipe and it actually turned out!  The Pistachio flavour really came out once baked and it complemented the tang of the cranberry.  The texture was perfect!  Quite crunchy but softened just the right about with a quick dunk in my tea.  Poppa even liked these ones.  I will make these again, I guess all that pistachio shelling was worth it.

Now, I will not be having four with my morning tea, I will try my best to have only one, maaaaaaaaaybe two.  I did have one this morning with my Tim Horton’s extra-large steeped tea with milk (heaven in a cardboard cup) and it was delightful!  Though I didn’t feel guilty at all as I enjoyed it AFTER my 4k run, I’d say I earned it!

20140112_105005

Leave a Reply

