Chocolate Marshmallow Squares

IMG_5928

There are 2 things my Dad asks for, lemon cake with lemon filling for his birthday and Chocolate Marshmallow Squares for Christmas.  This is a recipe that my Nana always made at Christmas time.  It was one of many! She would make several big desserts as well as squares, perhaps this is where I inherited my sweet tooth.  This is a very simple recipes that requires no baking, but to be honest, not many people outside my family like it.  It kind of reminds me of a s’more, I am fairly certain I could eat the entire tray!

Nana’s Chocolate Marshmallow Squares

IMG_5871

24 large marshmallows or equivalent in small
2 oz of semi sweet baking chocolate
1 tsp butter
2 1/2 cups Graham Crumbs
1 can Eagle Brand Milk

Directions:

1. In a double boiler melt chocolate with butter

IMG_5848

2. While chocolate is melting prepare an 8×8 pan.  Coat with butter or Pam and sprinkle with extra graham crumbs.  You must do this or it will stick like glue to the pan!

IMG_5853

3. Prepare marshmallows.  I have never used the large marshmallows, I just can’t see cutting them up, it just wouldn’t look right.  I generally take 24 small handfuls (6-8)

IMG_5850

4. When chocolate has melted add Eagle Brand milk and stir

Don’t skimp, get the good stuff!

IMG_5854

IMG_5858

IMG_5860

5.  Pour chocolate mixture over marshmallows and add Graham crumbs

IMG_5861

IMG_5862

6. Stir! as it starts to set quickly

IMG_5864

7.  Pour into prepared pan, cover and refrigerate over night

IMG_5868

8. The next day it is firm and ready to cut

IMG_5923

I love these!!  They are hard to describe.  They are kind of dry compared to most sweets and squares, but deliciously sweet! I think it might be the texture that turns people away, because the taste is amazing!

Our family loves them and I will continue making them each Christmas, give them a try, you might love them!

Leave a Reply

