OCC #3

IMG_5638

It has been months since I have done an Oatmeal Chocolate Chip recipe! It is hard to find the best when you are not baking, I have been slacking!  Time to get back in the kitchen.  Luckily this year I work with a lovely group of people who just happen to love treats, my kind of people!  A bakers dream, 5 willing tasters. Now I will bake more and not eat it all myself, Perfect!  This week I went with an Oatmeal Cookie recipe as I have still not found ‘My favourite Oatmeal Cookie’.

This recipe was found at Baking is my Zen, some great recipes, check it out!  I did change this recipe a tad.  I loved that they were thick and chewy, but my tasters are NOT fans of raisins, so I had to go with a chocolate chip version.  In doing so I omitted a lot of the spices, that I figured wouldn’t go as well with chocolate.

Big and Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

Adapted from Baking is my Zen

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
16 tablespoons (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
3 cups old-fashioned oats
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven temperature: 350°F

2. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

3. Whisk the flour, salt and baking powder in a medium bowl; set aside.

IMG_5598

4. Beat the butter and sugars at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Scrape down bowl.

IMG_5600

5. Add eggs, one at a time, and mix until combined, about 30 seconds. Scrape down bowl.

IMG_5601

6. Decrease speed to low and slowly add the dry ingredients until combined, about 30 seconds.

IMG_5604

7. Mix in the chips until just incorporated.

IMG_5605

8. Chill dough for an hour or more. I chill overnight. ( chilling is OPTIONAL)

IMG_5606

9. Using large ice cream scooper, scoop cookie dough on parchment lined baking sheet. Space cookies about 2 inches apart.

IMG_5629

10. Bake, switching and rotating the sheets halfway through the baking time, until the cookies turn golden brown around the edges, 20 minutes

IMG_5638

Unfortunately, I was not a fan of these cookies.  They were thick, but chewy as in tough chewy.  I won’t make these again.

The search continues

Categories OCC

Leave a Reply

