Tenderflake Pie Crust

IMG_5631

I am a bearer for punishment, I am back trying another daunting pie crust.  I will not give up!  The last recipe I went with butter, I just assumed as with most things, butter is better!  WRONG!  It was awful.  This time I am going with Gramma’s suggestion ‘must use Tenderflake!’ Gramma has always made amazing pie crust.  I should have asked her last time but I was trying to surprise them with an amazing pie…..boy did that flop.  Always ask the experts and LISTEN to them!

After deciding to go with Gramma’s suggestion, I still went to the internet to ‘see’ how it was done. Even though Gramma told me what to do, I need to see it in pictures.  I am such a visual learner, hence all the pictures I put in my posts. I like to see each step and the final product.  I will often pass right by a recipe if there are no pictures, it just does not work for me.  I am sure there are people who are just the opposite to me and can’t stand all the pictures I post.  Anyways..back to the pie crust.  After watching a few videos and looking at many blogs (researching I guess) I decided to go with “The Tenderflake Pie Crust Recipe” with Gramma’s tips and suggestions.

Tenderflake Recipe for Pie Crust

 
From inside of the Tenderflake Lard Package

Ingredients

5½ cups of all-purpose flour
2 tsp salt
1 lb Tenderflake® lard
1 tbsp vinegar
1 egg, lightly beaten
Ice Water
 
Yield: 3 9-inch double crust pies or 6 pie shells. (I got 2)
 
Instructions

1. Whisk together flour and salt.

IMG_5526
 
2. Cut in Tenderflake with pastry blender or 2 knives until the lard is pea sized within the flour.

 
IMG_5592
IMG_5593
 
3. In a 1 cup measure combine the vinegar and egg.

 
IMG_5527
 
4. Add the ice water to make 1 cup.

 
IMG_5594
 
 
5. Gradually stir liquid into Tenderflake mixture, adding only enough liquid to make dough cling together.

 
IMG_5532
 
6. Gently gather the dough into a ball and divide into 6 equal portions. (i did 4)

 
7. Wrap the portions and refrigerate for 15-30 minutes (if you are using right away) or freeze for future use.

 
IMG_5610
 
8. When you are ready to use and the dough has chilled for at least another 15 minutes, roll out each portion on lightly floured surface. If the dough is sticking, chill again for another hour or two. The dough must be cold to be flaky!
9. Transfer the prepared dough to pie plate.

 
IMG_5611
 
IMG_5612
IMG_5613
10. Trim and flute shells or crusts and bake according to your pie recipe.

 
This time I went with Apple Pie.  Mom and Poppa both really enjoy apple pie, so I figured it would give it a go.  I found the filling recipe at Canadialiving.com – Grandma Thompson;s Prize-Winnning Apple Pie.

 

Apple Pie

adapted from Canadianliving.com

Filling:

8 apples, (such as McIntosh or Northern Spy)about 3 lb (1.5 kg)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tsps cinnamon
1 pinch ground nutmeg
1 pinch salt

Directions:
 
1. Peel and core apples; cut into 1/4-inch thick slices and place in large bowl.
IMG_5614
2. In a small bowl, toss together sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt
IMG_5615
 
3. Add to apples and toss to coat.

 
IMG_5616
 

4. On lightly floured surface, roll out half of the pastry to generous 1/8-inch thickness; fit into 9-inch pie plate. Trim to leave 3/4-inch

 
5. Scrape filling into pie shell
 
IMG_5617
 

6. Roll out remaining pastry.

 
7. Whisk egg yolk with 1 tbsp  water; brush over pastry rim.

 
IMG_5620
 
8. Fit pastry over filling; trim to leave 3/4-inch overhang.

 
IMG_5623
 
9. Brush egg mixture over pastry. Cut steam vents in top10. Bake in bottom third of 450°F oven for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350°F; bake for 65 minutes or until bottom is deep golden and filling is bubbling and thickened.

 
IMG_5624
 
11. Let cool on rack. (Make-ahead: Set aside for up to 24 hours.)

 
IMG_5636
It looked fantastic, the crust browned up nicely and looked flaky, BUT the last one LOOKED GOOD too!   And now we wait for dessert…

 
SUCCESS!!!!!

 
IMG_5645
This crust was great! it was light, flaky and delicious!  I don’t think it will win any prizes, but there were no complaints with this one.  Poppa gave the ‘ok’ sign, and said it was much better!  Also, the filling was quite nice as well.  Who knows, maybe I’ll have a future full of pies!
 
 
Categories Pie

Leave a Reply

