Pie Crust – Attempt #1

IMG_5379

Raisin Pie….Just like Gramma?

From past posts it is obvious that I am NOT a pie maker!  I can’t seem to make a nice crust.  To be honest, I am really not a pie fan, so I have not taken the time to learn how to make a good one.

Poppa has been asking for a raisin pie for a few months now, and the expert (Gramma) has not taken the bait.   I decide I would jump in with two feet and ATTEMPT a raisin pie, just like Gramma.  About a year ago I made raisin pie with Gramma, but she already had her amazing crust made, we just did the pie filling.

I love making new things but I am terrified about this one.  1) It’s for Poppa, 2) it’s Gramma’s recipe, hope I do it justice, 3) I don’t make pie!, every attempt prior to this I have been unhappy with.  People tell me it’s good, but I know it is not.  I would so much rather someone tell me it is not good, or they don’t like it, then them lie about it!

So I strike into the world wide web in search of a rich and flaky pie crust, there had to be a million, which one to choose? Many are similar with slight variations.  The one big debate I fond was whether to use butter or lard.  I read about both, watched a few YouTube videos and decided to go with butter, because what isn’t better with butter?  I settled on a recipe from the Smitten Kitchen.  I had tried a few of the recipes from that website in the past that were amazing!  This recipe gave many tips and explanations and it was also very simple, very few ingredients….now to see if it is as wonderful as said to be.

Pie Crust

From Smitten Kitchen

2 1/2 cups (315 grams) flour
1 tablespoon (15 grams) sugar
1 teaspoon (5 grams) table salt
2 sticks (8 ounces, 225 grams tablespoons or 1 cup) unsalted butter, very cold

Directions:

1. Fill a 1 cup measure with water and add a few ice cubes or put in the freezer while you get the rest of your ingredients read

2. In a large bowl combine flour, sugar and salt

IMG_5348

3. Cube butter and add to flour mixture.  Cut in with pastry cutter.  ( I had to go on the hunt for this, way back at the back of the drawer, again, I don’t make pie)

IMG_5353

4. Cut until butter is pea size, you want visible butter

IMG_5354

5. Start by drizzling 1/2 cup  of the cold water over the butter and flour mixture.

IMG_5356

6. Using spatula, gather the dough together. You’ll probably need an additional 1/4 cup of cold water to bring it together, but add it a tablespoon as a time. Once you’re pulling large clumps with the spatula, take it out and get your hands in there .

IMG_5358

7. Gather the disparate damp clumps together into one mound, kneading them gently together

IMG_5359

8. Divide dough in half and wrap in plastic wrap, refrigerate for at least 1 hour

IMG_5366

9. 3 hours later. Roll out and prepare for your pie filling.  I followed my Gramma’s Raisin Pie Recipe that I made with her last year

Looks pretty good!

IMG_5368

10. Bake until golden brown

IMG_5375

Looks delicious!

IMG_5374

At this point I am so excited!  The pie looks fantastic and smells even better.  I can hardly wait for it to cool for dessert.  When I brought the pie down to my parents for supper everyone was thrilled that I made pie, especially Poppa!  They all know my past problems with pie, by the looks of this one we were quite optimistic.

Mom cooked a fantastic supper, as always, but we all saved room for a piece of pie. Time for dessert!!! There were many ooohh’s, and ahhh’s when I brought the pie to the table……..and it all went down hill from there…..

The high point of this pie was the look of it.  Looks pretty good doesn’t it? Well, our eyes were the only things that were impressed!

I went to cut into the crust, it wouldn’t cut!!! after several attempts I resorted to a bread knife, FOR PIE!!  It was then that my heart sank, and we had a bit of a laugh about it.

IMG_5384

Everyone gets a piece before me, as I am serving. Poppa is eating it up, Gramma is picking away at it, and says it is good.  Dad is eating it, says the inside is awesome but the crust is no good (finally someone is honest) and Mom said no good! I finally get my piece, awful!!!!  Worst. Crust. Ever!  I couldn’t even eat it!  Poppa was a trooper, he ate the whole thing, dunno how he did it.  We all agreed that the filling was fantastic!  I have definitely nailed Gramma’s raisin pie FILLING.  I don’t know what I did wrong, but this didn’t even taste like crust, it kind of reminded me of puff pastry, awful puffed pastry I might add.  I am glad others had success with this recipe but unfortunately I did not!

As Poppa said “don’t give up!” and I wont.  It did make for some good laughs and a story to remember.

So….Raisin Pie….not so much like Gramma’s

Anyone have a pie crust recipe to share???  PLEASE!!!

Leave a Reply

