Zucchini Muffins

IMG_5200

This morning I got the itch to bake something, I just wasn’t sure what it would be.  It was the perfect day, nice and cool with no humidity.  I decided on oatmeal cookies, hadn’t made them in a long time.  One problem, every recipe I want to try has the dough resting a few hours but best over night!  I didn’t have time for that today, such disappointment.  I hate when you are all geared up for something and it doesn’t happen.  (sigh)

I decided on zucchini muffins.  I found the recipe a few weeks back and had some zucchini to use up.  The only other zucchini recipe I had baked was my Mom’s zucchini loaf, which is delicious, but I like to try something new.  I found this recipe on Pinterest, it was the picture that caught my attention, it looked so moist and fluffy, not dense like most zucchini items I have had.

Zucchini Muffins

from Health

1.5 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1.5 cups grated zucchini (about 2 small to medium-size zucc’s)
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. vanilla extract (or vanilla paste)
1/3 cup canola oil
2 tsp. baking powder
Cinnamon and sugar for topping

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375° F. Prepare muffin tin with muffin liners.

2. In large bowl, whisk together flour, sugars, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside.

IMG_5181

3. In a medium bowl, combine grated zucchini, eggs, vanilla, and oil. Stir well to combine.

IMG_5184

4.  Gently stir zucchini into flour mixture. Be careful not to overwork this—it will lead to dense muffins!

IMG_5186

5. Fill lined muffin tins about 3/4 of the way up with the batter and then sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on each (I forgot to do this!) .

IMG_5188

6. Bake for about 30 minutes or until golden.

IMG_5190

They Look perfect!

IMG_5200

They didn’t stick to the wrapper

IMG_5194

Look at all that wonderful zucchini

IMG_5197

These muffins were fantastic!  I am used to most zucchini breads which are dense and more like a pound cake.  These were light and airy.  They had a wonderful crumb, just like a muffin.  These were a huge hit, everyone loved them.  I think I would add more cinnamon next time, but I am a bit of a cinnamon freak. Quite delicious, glad I came across this one.

Leave a Reply

