Oatmeal Cookie Challenge #2

IMG_5266

Giant oatmeal cookies!  One of the biggest complaints I get when I make cookies is “They are too big!”.  Now, I have had a lot, and I mean a lot of cookies in my day and never, ever have I said, “man, this cookie is just too big!” To me there is nothing better than a giant, thick and chewy cookie, especially oatmeal or chocolate chip (hence the OCC and CCCC). There are many reasons I prefer a giant cookie, for one, they usually have a nice golden, crisp edge with a chewy soft centre AND you can say, well I only had one! 😉

It has been a while (3 months!) since I have made a cookie for the OCC.  I have still been looking for recipes just haven’t been baking as much, it has been hot, humid and yucky here, not really baking weather.  Now that the summer is winding down, only 2 more days until I head back to work after summer holidays, I decided I needed to make an end of summer treat.  I went with oatmeal cookies because I had a ton of oatmeal in the cupboard that needed to get used up.

I came across this recipe on Pinterest which lead me to Si’s Bountiful Kitchen, well worth a stop by, she has some amazing recipes!

Giant Oatmeal Cookies

Adapted from A Bountiful Kitchen
2 cups butter, room temperature
2 cups brown sugar
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
4 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
5 cups quick oats*
2 cups chocolate chips or raisins

*I used old fashioned oats

Directions:

1. The day before ( yes you read that right, the day before, plan ahead when making these cookies)or several hours before baking:
Cream butter and sugars.

**tip on quickly getting butter to room temperature – slice thinly, takes very little time at all, especially in this hot weather**

IMG_5223

IMG_5229

2. Add eggs and vanilla, beat until no longer grainy. About 3 minutes.

IMG_5233

3. Combine all dry ingredients in bowl.

IMG_5237

**at this point I realize I have a problem, all that dry is NOT going to fit into the mixer bowl!  Had to do some bowl switching**

IMG_5235

This will work much better…

IMG_5236

4. In 3 additions stir into the butter mixture . Do not over mix. Blend just until wet and dry ingredients are combined, You may also mix by hand to prevent over-mixing.

IMG_5240

5. Fold in chocolate chips.

IMG_5242

I also took some dough in a small bowl and added some raisins

IMG_5241
6. Scoop dough onto a large pan, using a 2-3 inch cookie or ice cream scoop. To please those ‘big cookie haters’ I also make both kind of cookies in a smaller scoop.

IMG_5244

IMG_5247
7. Cover pan with Saran wrap and place in refrigerator overnight or for at least 2 hours…and now I wait…..

IMG_5248

***18 long hours later, after a good sleep and a run (I don’t feel as guilty eating the cookies now that I have started running 🙂 )***
9. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 400°F

10. Place dough onto cookie sheets, no more than 6 cookies per pan. Slightly flatten top of cookie with spatula or palm of your hand. (I flattened some and left some just as balls, mostly because I forgot to flatten them)

IMG_5258

The ones I forgot to flatten

IMG_5257

11. Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cookies cool completely on baking sheet. **In my oven 8-10 was not quite enough, they were still raw, even though I like a slightly undercooked cookie.  Worked best 12 minutes for the small ones and 15 for the big ones**

Flattened

IMG_5263

Not flattened

IMG_5261

Size comparison for the fussy small cookie lovers

IMG_5275

So far so good, they did not fall like a lot of other ‘thick’ cookies I have made

Check out the centre of that cookie!!! (Keep in mind I could not wait until it cooled, this is right out of the even and has not completely set)

IMG_5272

The flattened version

IMG_5273

These cookies were good.  Everyone said they loved them.  Even my Uncle who ‘doesn’t eat sweets’ ate 2 and took a bunch home!  I love how they stayed nice and thick without falling as they cooled.  The texture was excellent, they stayed nice and chewy inside and had a slight crunch around the outside.  Both versions were great, but I think my favourite was the oatmeal raisin ones.  I do have to add that even the ‘small cookies’ were complained about being a ‘whole meal’ they were still too big! I give up, have a half a cookie lol.

The cookies were good, but not my favaourite yet!  I loved the size and how they kept their shape but I think they were lacking in flavour.  I will try them again with a few of my own adjustments.  Now, in saying that, it didn’t stop me from eating them, I wont admit how many I had!!!

Thanks for a great recipe Si

Leave a Reply

