Almond Cranberry Biscotti

IMG_5030

Biscotti time again!  It’s been a few weeks since I have made some biscotti and I have been craving it.  I kind of got used to having a biscotti, or two, with my morning tea.  I didn’t really want to go to the store, so I made do with what I had in the kitchen.

I knew I had some almonds and dried cranberries and of course the other basics. I couldn’t find one recipe that seemed like what I wanted.  I found 2 recipe that I adapted and put together.  One is from the Ocean Spray website the other is from Everything Biscotti.

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Adapted from OceanSpray.com and Everythingbiscotti.com

2 1/4 cups flour
5 tbsp ground almonds
1 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
3 eggs
1 egg white
2 tsp almond extract
5-ounce dried Cranberries
1/2 cup almonds
1 oz white chocolate

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 350°F.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside

2. Ground a heaping 1/4 cup of almonds

IMG_5017

3. In a medium bowl combine ground almonds, flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, almonds and cranberries

IMG_5018

4. In the bowl of your stand mixer, whip eggs and almond extract.  (mixer not necessary, mixing by hand also works fine)

IMG_5020

5. Add dry ingredients and mix at lowest speed just until combined

IMG_5021

6. Form dough into 2 logs and bake for 35 minutes

IMG_5022

7.  Transfer to a cooling rack for about 20 minutes

IMG_5025

8. Slice on a diagonal with a serrated knife.  Return to the cookie sheet, leaving at least a half inch between each one.  Bake for another 20-30 minutes

IMG_5026

9. Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely

IMG_5027

10. When biscotti has cooled completely melt chocolate and drizzle

IMG_5036

Allow chocolate to set before starting your kettle to make the tea!

IMG_5032

This recipe was quite good if i do say so myself.  The texture of these biscotti were excellent, not too hard and not soft, just perfect for dunking.  The tang  from the cranberries and the little bit of sweet from the white chocolate went perfect together.  Next time I would add more almond extract.

Leave a Reply

