Brown Sugar Cinnamon Biscotti

IMG_4872

A while back I mentioned I was going to be making a lot more biscotti because I had found more people who liked them.  Since that statement, I have made none!  Here’s why…its been ridiculously hot and humid. The last four days have felt like 45°C with the humidity! The air is thick and gross.  I have found that humidity and biscotti do not get along well, they just don’t hold their crunch.  It’s like they have been pre-dipped, yuck!  Anyways….last night there was a lovely storm, with rain and heavy winds that broke the heat, my house went from 45° to 25°C, it is wonderful!  Have I mentioned how much I hate the heat? It’s July and I’d be happy if it snowed.

Back to the biscotti.  I found this recipe about a year ago at Bakeorbreak.com. (Jennifer has some other really amazing looking treats on there as well, do check them out!) I thought it looked delicious and really, how can you go wrong with cinnamon!  I LOVE cinnamon! I will usually double the amount of cinnamon a recipe calls for.  This recipe called for something I could not locate in Canada, or at least in my area.  I was able to find them in the States and brought back 5 bags of Cinnamon Chips, made by Hershey’s.

IMG_4843

IMG_4847

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Biscotti

from BakeorBreak.com

2 large eggs
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 cup cinnamon chips
1 cup chopped pecans (or other nuts)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Line a large baking sheet with parchment or Silpat.

2. Beat the eggs, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and vanilla until creamy.

IMG_4844

3.  Decrease mixer speed and add flour, cinnamon, cinnamon chips, and pecans ( I used almonds because that’s what I had) . Mix just until blended.

IMG_4848

IMG_4849

4. Place dough on baking sheet. Shape into a log about 14 inches long, 2 & 1/2 inches wide, and 3/4 inches thick.

IMG_4850

5. Bake for 25 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 325°.

IMG_4853

6. Let cool on the pan for 5 to 15 minutes, then slice the biscotti into 3/4-inch slices. Slice on the diagonal to yield longer biscotti. Be sure to slice straight up and down so the slices will not topple over during baking.

IMG_4859

7. Place sliced pieces on lined baking sheet, allowing about 1/2 inch between them.

IMG_4860

8. Bake for  25 minutes. Remove from oven and transfer to a rack. After the biscotti have cooled, they can be stored in an airtight container for 2 weeks.

IMG_4864

9. Brew up your favourite cup of tea, dunk and enjoy 🙂

IMG_4866

These were quite tasty! The aroma coming from the oven was amazing, almost like cinnamon buns.  They had a prefect texture, they were quite crunchy without breaking your teeth, but when you dunked, softened just enough to chew.  You could really taste the cinnamon sugar (I did double the cinnamon) and the cinnamon chips were a nice addition.  I was a little concerned about the cinnamon chips, on their own they were not fantastic but in the recipe they were quite nice.

IMG_4875

I will be making these again, I think they would be wonderful on a cold winter day to fill the house with the wonderful warm smell of cinnamon.

IMG_4870

Thank you to Jennifer at BakeorBreak  for sharing this recipe.

Leave a Reply

