Strawberry Cheesecake Bites

IMG_4728

It’s one of my favourite times of the year, Ontario strawberries are ready for picking!  I love strawberries, but I really only eat them this time of the year, they are fresh, local and delicious!  These berries are deep dark red all the way though, juicy and sweet.  I hate when you buy a package of strawberries from the grocery store and they are only red on the outer 3 millimeters and the insides are white and have no flavour, ewww!  I tend to eat as many as humanly possible for about a month, while they are fresh right off the plant.  When they start to peter off I buy more so I can freeze them and either bake with them in the winter or throw them in my smoothies.

IMG_4795

IMG_4739

I normally just eat them as is, washed and stemmed.  Sometimes I will put a little CoolWhip or yogurt on them, but I love to enjoy them in their natural form.   Today I was in the mood to make something, BUT it is 33° C and feels like 38° C so I really didn’t want to turn the oven on to heat it up any more in here.   I looked up a few recipes (some of which I will making very soon) and saw a picture that reminded me of a recipe a friend told me about a while ago, Strawberry Cheesecake Bites.  I didn’t have an exact recipe (which is killer for me, I am a strict recipe follower!), but I thought I would be adventurous and give it a whirl, and make it up.

Strawberry Cheesecake Bites

10 Strawberries
2 oz Philadelphia Cream Cheese
2 tbsp Icing sugar
1/4 tsp Vanilla
Graham Crumbs to sprinkle

Directions

1. Allow cream cheese to slightly warm up enough to be able to mix

2. While cream cheese is warming, wash hull and hallow out strawberries.  I used a small pairing knife

IMG_4796

3. Combine cream cheese, icing sugar and vanilla until smooth

IMG_4798

4. Transfer to a piping bag and pipe into each strawberry

IMG_4801

5. Sprinkle with Graham crumbs and enjoy!

IMG_4806

These look delicious!

IMG_4804

IMG_4808

IMG_4809

These little bite sized ‘cheesecakes’ were amazing!  They were refreshing and a tad bit sweet, but not too much.  They were excellent on a hot day like today.  The sweetness of the berry and the creamy filling worked perfect together.  The sprinkling of crumbs really brought it together, added a little texture.  They really tasted like cheesecake.  This is a wonderful light dessert all the taste without all the guilt of a real cheesecake.  I will definitely be making these again.

One thought on “Strawberry Cheesecake Bites

  1. This is so great I’ve never seen anything like this I love this my mother just adores cheesecake and I am sooo going to make this for her birthday in a couple month just have to start practicing!

Leave a Reply

