Oatmeal Cookie Challenge #1

IMG_4337

I have another Challenge.  I have been looking for “My favourite Chocolate Chip Cookie”, though I have not found it I have started looking for “My Favourite Oatmeal Cookie”.  Like the chocolate chip cookie, I prefer mine to be thick and chewy.  I hate flat crunchie cookies!   I have found quite a few recipes which claim to be ‘the best thick and chewy oatmeal cookies’ I look forward to trying them and hope one will be “My Favourite”

This first recipe I am trying I found on Pinterest, where I find so many of my recipes.  The picture sucked me right in.  I thought, if these cookies taste half as good as they look, they will be the winner!   They came from Honistlyani.

OCC #1

2 cups butter
2 cups sugar
2 cups brown sugar
4 eggs
4 cups flour
5 cups oatmeal (put a small amount into a blender until it turns to powder)
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 F and line cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

2. Take a small amount of the oatmeal, about half a cup, and grind it in a food processor/chopper/blender until it resembles flour

IMG_4316

IMG_4317

3. In a large bowl combine oatmeal, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Set aside.

IMG_4318

4. Combine in a small bowl, butter, sugar, brown sugar, eggs and vanilla

IMG_4322

5. Add wet ingredients to dry and add 32 oz of semi sweet chocolate chips – stir to combine – do not over mix!

IMG_4326

6. Use a cookie scoop to form the cookies and place a few inches apart.

IMG_4327

7. Bake until edges just start to brown.  Cool on sheet for 10 minutes before transferring to cooling rack

IMG_4337

Just look at these cookies!  They look perfect!  They are huge, and thick and very chocolatey.  If they taste as good as they look we are in for a real treat.

IMG_4341

These cookies were delicious! The texture was unbelievable,  they had a light crispy edge but a wonderfully soft, chewy center.  The cookie to chip ratio was perfect.  This is a keeper, I will make a few more recipes, but I think this just may be my favourite, and it was only the first try!  Next time I will try them with raisins.

Leave a Reply

