Cherry Almond Biscotti

IMG_4725

I tired a new biscotti recipe last week.  I love the flavour of the Almond Cherry Biscotti that I usually make, but I can’t seem to get them to ‘harden up’.  They always seem to be too soft, more like a cookie.  Don’t get me wrong, it does not stop me from eating them, but I thought I would try something different.

I found this recipe on Everything-Biscotti.com.  This is a great resource if you are into biscotti.  I was able to get some great tips and some more recipes I would like to try.  This recipe was Almond biscotti, I like the almond cherry combination so I added cherries to the recipe.

Easy Almond Biscotti

Adapted from Everything-biscotti.com

2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup almonds
3/4 teas baking soda
1/4 teas. salt
1/2 teas. vanilla extract
1/4 teas. almond extract
2 eggs
1 egg white
1/2 cup dried cherries (my addition)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F and place oven rack in center of oven.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

2. In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking soda and salt

IMG_4696

3. Add almond and cherries, stir to combine

IMG_4701

4. In a small bowl combine vanilla, almond extract, egg and egg white

IMG_4699

5. Add egg mixture to dry ingredients. Stir until well combined.  Dough will be dry. Dump onto a floured surface and kneed about 10 times to bring everything together

IMG_4703

IMG_4706

6.  Form into 2 equal logs, approximately 1 inch thick. Place on prepared sheets

IMG_4707

7. Bake for 30 minutes or until the log is firm to the touch and golden.  Place logs on a wire rack to cool, approximately 15 minutes

IMG_4710

8. Reduce the oven to 325F.

9. On a cutting board, with a serrated knife, cut on a diagonal approximately 1/2 inch thick

IMG_4713

10. Place cut side down on cookie sheet and bake from 12 minutes.  Turn each biscotti over and bake for another 12 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack

IMG_4717

IMG_4719

This recipe was pretty good.  I quite prefer the texture of these biscotti over the ones I usually make.  These were much more crunchy and dry.  As for the flavour, they were a little weak.  Next time I would add a lot more almond extract, perhaps up to a teaspoon, I could barely taste the almond.  I will make these again with a few changes.  Can’t wait to try another flavour soon!

IMG_4723

Leave a Reply

