Raisin Cinnamon Scones

IMG_4292

This is a recipe that I have done before, check it out here, but I must say the post was very boring!  It was early on in my posting days and I only had an after picture.  I have made these a few times, but figured I would post ‘properly’ about them.  I am sure not everyone likes to see a photo of each and every step, but I do!  I am a very visual person, I like to see what I am supposed to do or what it should look like.  Often if I am looking for a recipe and there is no photo, I just leave because I just can’t visualize how it will turn out.  I did make a few changes from the original recipe.

Raisin Scones

The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

Barefoot Contessa, Episode: Big Breakfast, from Food Network

Ingredients

4 cups plus 1 tablespoon flour
2 tablespoons sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
2 tablespoons baking powder
2 teaspoons kosher salt
3/4 pound cold unsalted butter, diced
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup cold heavy cream (I had half & half so I used that)
3/4 cup raisins
1 extra-large egg beaten with 2 tablespoons milk or water, for egg wash
*I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

2. Combine 4 cups flour, 2 tablespoons sugar, the baking powder, salt  and cinnamon in an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment.

IMG_4278

3.Blend in the cold butter at the lowest speed and mix until the butter is in pea-sized pieces.

There is a lot of butter in these scones, but don’t skimp, it’s worth it!
Kinda funny that i am weighing 3/4 pound of butter on a Weight Watchers scale (FYI, they are not points friendly!)

IMG_4273

IMG_4281

IMG_4282

4. Combine the eggs and heavy cream and quickly add to the flour/butter mixture. Combine until just blended.

IMG_4283

5. Combine the raisins and 1 tablespoon flour and then add to the dough and mix quickly. The dough may be a bit sticky. (Forgot to take a picture of this one)

6. Dump the dough out onto a floured surface and be sure it is well combined. Flour your hands and a rolling pin and roll the dough out to 3/4-inch to 1-inch thick.  Cut into desired shape, I make my scones into triangles

IMG_4286

7. Place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

IMG_4287

8. Brush the scones with the egg wash and sprinkle with sugar.

IMG_4289

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until the outsides are crisp and the insides are done.

IMG_4302

IMG_4293

Once again, these were amazing! I have yet to make anything of Ina Garten’s that was not fantastic!  The addition of the cinnamon was quite nice.  They have a wonderful texture.  They are not rich and heavy as you would assume with all the butter.  They are nice and light, you can see the many layers from the butter. Delicious!  I took a bunch into Poppa and Gramma’s, they loved them, covering them in more butter.  Gramma said I could make them anytime 🙂

Leave a Reply

