Chocolate Chip Cookie Challenge #3

IMG_3652

I believe it was a week ago I was complaining that it felt like summer in January.  Well, winter finally arrived, it’s a frosty -16 C with 60 km per hour winds, love it!  It just seemed like a perfect day to fill the house with the warm aroma of chocolate chip cookies!  Yep, that’s right, today I made rounds 3 and 4 of my Chocolate Chip Cookie Challenge.

Recipe #3 I kind of went in blind.  As several people know I am on the search, I have been given a few recipes to try.  I had not seen what these cookies looked like I only knew that they were ‘chewy and fairly pail’.  This recipe had 2 ingredients that none of the other recipes had, it only uses vegetable shortening and white sugar.  All the other recipes I had picked out used some if not all brown sugar and mostly butter.  I really wasn’t sure how they would turn out but I was willing to give it a try.  This recipe does not have a source, was just handed to me on a piece of paper

“The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies…
You Have Ever Tasted”

1 cup vegetable shortening
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Cream shortening and sugar

IMG_3604

2. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well

IMG_3606

IMG_3609

3. In another bowl combine flour, baking soda, salt and chocolate chips

IMG_3610

4. Add dry ingredients to wet, mix well

IMG_3613

5. Roll into balls and place on a cookie sheet

IMG_3614

IMG_3615

6. Bake at 350 F for 8 – 10 minutes or until the center of the cookie pops up when gently pressed

IMG_3616

IMG_3617

IMG_3655

When I saw these cookies I was quite surprised how ‘white’ they stayed, it’s amazing how the brown sugar really changes the appearance.  I was very optimistic about these cookies, they had a good height and when I broke it in half they had a nice soft texture.  When they were warm they were OK, very soft (almost falling apart) and chewy.  When they cooled I did not like them at all.  They reminded me more of a soft sugar cookie.  Unfortunately these ones are right out of the running.  The search continues….

Leave a Reply

