CCCC Recipe #2

IMG_3591

I woke up this morning to torrential rain, it’s January in Canada, it’s not suppose to rain!!  Where is the snow?? We have had one dumping of snow, which only left 10 cm, now it’s all gone!  What happened to those winters like they are having out East and West? They have several feet of snow, I’m quite jealous!  Anyways….seeing as how the day is so dismal and blah I figured it was the perfect day to try recipe #2 in my CCCC.  Fresh chocolate chip cookies, mmmm, how could that not brighten your day! I searched through my saved recipes on Pinterest and decided on this one, for no other reason then it was the first one I came to that I had all of the ingredients on hand.  Recipe #2 is Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies from Erin Cooks.  I had saved this recipe because it looked delicious!  Between Erin’s post and the many positive comments I knew I had to give it a try.

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Originally published in the Got Milk? Cookie Book by Peggy Cullen)
I found it on Erin Cooks

1/4 cup butter, softened
6 tablespoons white sugar
6 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (6 ounces) chocolate chunks or chips
1 cup nuts (Note: optional)

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 375 F

2. In a small bowl whisk together flour and baking soda, set aside

IMG_3539

3. With and electric mixer beat butter, sugars, salt and vanilla until combined

IMG_3542

4. Add egg, scrape down sides and mix until just combined

IMG_3544

IMG_3545

5. Add dry ingredients and chocolate chips, mix on lowest speeds until just combine

IMG_3546

6. Shape into 1.5 inch balls, I used my 3 tbsp scoop it seemed to make them that size. Place on parchment lined cookie sheet, approx 3 inches apart

IMG_3550

Dough looks (and tastes) delicious!

IMG_3551

7. Bake 10-12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  I checked after 10 minutes, they were not quite done, 12 minutes was perfect.

IMG_3572

IMG_3554

Very inconsistent within the same batch

IMG_3579

IMG_3567

Same tray had a beautiful thick cookie (above) and a flat crisper one (below)

IMG_3568

IF they all turned out like this it would be great! These are beautiful!

IMG_3587

These cookies were ok.  They were very inconsistent. Within the same batch, same pan even, there was thick and beautiful cookies and thin and blah cookies.  I’m not really sure what went wrong.  It is not the oven, because they were in different spots on both trays.  The cookies that stayed thick and chewy were quite good!  They had a great taste and good texture.  They were not raw, but they were quite chewy.  As the recipe suggest, cooking for 10 -12 minutes, 12 was perfect, the edges were golden and slightly crisp, the outer part of the cookie had a nice colour and a bit of a crunch and they centers were nice and soft and chewy.  As for the flat ones, they were crisp and greasy.   I may come back and try these ones again.  Not sure what I did wrong to have some turn out and some not.

Verdict? They were ok, I would eat them again, BUT I will keep searching for ‘my favourite’.  Thanks to Erin Cooks for a great blog and recipe, you should check it out, some great looking recipes there.

Leave a Reply

