My Top 10 of 2012!

It’s hard to believe that 2012 is over, it just seems like I was doing a year in review for 2011.  This year was a good baking year for me.  I was able to do another Cupcake Wedding, a few of my favourite cakes, numerous delicious desserts and the odd good cooking recipe.  In 2012 I found some new favourite recipes, tried  quite a few new things for the first time, was pushed outside my comfort zone and have grown as a baker, but most of all I had a ball doing it all!  Weather it was an amazing recipe or a dismal disaster I truly enjoyed making each and everyone of the 46 posts I posted this year.   Here is a list of what I picked as my favourites of 2012.

10. Red Pepper Jelly

IMG_2053

I didn’t used to like Red Pepper Jelly, that is, until I tried my good friend Lisa’s Red Pepper Jelly it converted me!  I had it years ago, but never thought I would get the recipe.  This year Lisa was kind enough to share it with me and allow me to share it with all of you.  Lisa’s jelly is quite sweet, with a little kick of heat, it is amazing on cracker with cream cheese.  Mom and I made 3 batches of it this year and I can see it being a yearly tradition.  Thanks Lisa!!

9. Biscuits

IMG_7453

Way back in January Audax Artifex was the host of our first Daring Bakers Challenge in 2012.  Audax challenged us to make biscuits.  I loved this challenge because I had always wanted to get the perfect tea biscuit.  To me, the perfect biscuit was something that my Great-Gramma Carlow made when I was a little girl.  I tried several different biscuit recipes and found what I think to be fantastic tea biscuits as well as a sweet biscuit that is ALMOST like Great-Grammas.

8. Whipped Shortbread

IMG_3061

Shortbread….I am a bit of a shortbread snob.  As a rule I really only like Mom’s, they are amazing.  In December I was introduced to ‘Whipped Shortbread‘, something that was totally new to me.    I was pleasantly surprised that I loved them!  They do not take the place of Mom’s, hers are still better, but these ones will be along side hers for years to come on the Christmas treat trays 🙂

7. Chocolate Biscotti

IMG_2853

Biscotti? Who the heck gnaws on those horrible things?  That was what I thought not that long ago.  Then I had a request to make a batch of biscotti,  I have been hooked ever since!  They are nothing like I thought they would be.  Dunked in a nice cup of tea, biscotti are a delicious treat.  I as much as I enjoyed the first recipe I wanted to try something different, I went with Chocolate Biscotti. This recipe is amazing!  If you like biscotti you must try them, the texture was perfect!  I will be making these again very soon, but not often as I had 5 with my morning mint tea!  They are dangerous to have around my house.

6. Roasted Beat Salad

IMG_1671

What? Salad? In a baking blog top 10 of the year?? YES! This one really surprised me.  Linda wanted to make me this Roasted Beet Salad, right off the bat I was convinced I would not like it. It involved eating the beet tops, ya those big green leafy things you cut off and throw out!  Boy, was I wrong!  This salad is delicious. The combination of the beets, cheese and dressing is amazing.  I made it many times during the summer and can honestly say I was disappointed when the fresh beets were gone.  It’s going to be a long winter but I look forward to market next summer when the fresh beet tops are back.  Thank you Linda!

5. Bacon Wrapped Dates

IMG_3305

These little delights are just like little bites of heaven.  In my opinion there are 3 foods that make the world a better place; cheese, chocolate and bacon, this recipe has 2 of the 3, so how can it not be good!  Lets face it, bacon wrapped around anything would be good.  Gina introduced me to Bacon Wrapped Dates.  I have had many things wrapped in bacon, but these so far are the best!  People who I was sure would not like them, loved them!  They are definitely a hit and will be made many more times to come, and not just at Christmas!  Thank you Gina!

4. Knitting Basket Cake

IMG_2718

I had a request to make a cake for an 80th birthday.  It was decided that it would be a ‘Knitting Cake‘ as she loves to knit.  As a fellow knitter I was really excited do this one.  I went with a knitting basket and yarn. Karen mentioned while talking about the cake that she like to knit dish cloths so I decide that was how I would put the birthday message in.  This one took a long time and was a lot of work, but worth every second when I saw the look on Karen’s face when she saw the cake.  She said her Mother loved it!  I really enjoy working with marshmallow fondant, and am slowly getting better at it, but I will say, I liked this one 😉

3. Monster Cookies

IMG_1796

Let me start with WOW!  Monster Cookies are amazing!  For about a year I had seen these popping up on many food blogs, everyone raved about them.  This was a recipe that I bookmarked and ‘would get around to one day’, well am I glad I did.  These cookies are delicious, they have an amazing texture, tons of chocolate chips and Smarties.  A few people I have made them for agree with me in saying that they are a new favourite.  This one will be a staple in my baking.

2. Best Ever Blueberry Muffins

IMG_1089

I found this muffin on Pinterest.  It does live up to it’s name, The Best Ever Blueberry Muffin! This muffin has it all, a fantastic texture, real blueberries, blueberry puree and an amazing crumb topping, together they made the perfect muffin.  I have made these several times with not a complaint.  These are definitely a favourite.

Drum Roll……..

And the winner is…..

A tie….

I could not pick one….

1. German Chocolate Cake & German Chocolate Cheesecake

IMG_0534

IMG_2888

I hate ties, BUT seeing as how they were both German Chocolate items I figured it was ok.  German Chocolate Cake has been something I wanted to try for a long time.  I love chocolate and I love coconut, so I figured I would love it!  I was right.  The German Chocolate Cake and German Chocolate Cheesecake were absolutely, positively amazing! Not only are they my #1 of 2012 I would have to say they are my #1 of all time.  There are few things that I make that I can’t critique, usually I find something I would change or improve upon, not these.  They were perfect!

I would like to thank each and every one of you who stop by to see what’s up in my Kitchen.  Never would I have thought Erica’s Edibles would have ever had over 52,ooo views.  I appreciated every comment, like and follower.  I also would like to thank those who have “Pinned” me, I was totally shocked to see some of my posts on Pinterest!

Happy New Year and all the best in 2013, Check back to see whats baking!

Erica

Leave a Reply

