My Chocolate Chip Cookie Challenge

IMG_3434

Chocolate Chip Cookies, what’s not to love!  I have yet to meet a person who did not like a chocolate chip cookie.  They are one of those things that as bad as they may be, you still eat them, why? because it’s a chocolate chip cookie!  If you search you can find thousands of different chocolate chip cookie recipes, most proclaiming to be ‘the best’ or ‘perfect’.  The thing is, most recipes are ‘the best’ to someone.  I’m sure when someone mentions chocolate chip cookies your mind immediately goes to what you think to be the perfect chocolate chip cookie, mine does!  When I think of the perfect chocolate chip cookie I thing of a big wide, thick and chewy cookie with lots of chips, others prefer a thin and crisp cookie.  It amazes me how one cookie can be made so many different ways, all aiming for the same final product ‘the perfect cookie’.  As a baker I like to have one recipe that is ‘my best’ of something, I have done this with my chocolate cake and my red velvet cake.  I have not yet mastered the Chocolate Chip Cookie.  So…my challenge for 2013 is to find ‘My Favourite Chocolate Chip Cookie”.  I  am not calling it the best or the perfect, but simply my favourite!  I have so far picked out 17 recipes of Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I’m sure all will be good, some great, but I am hoping for a favourite!  I will post each recipe and come up with a verdict before the year is through.  If you have a recipe that you think I may like please share!  Let the baking and tasting begin!

CCCC Recipe 1

The first recipe in my CCCC is adapted from Like Mothers Like Daughters, a fantastic blog with great recipes.  I was sold on this recipe because of the picture! You must check out their site, it looks delicious.  This cookie looks thick and chewy so I thought I would give it a try.

1/2 cup butter
¾ cup packed brown sugar
¾ cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
2 ¼ cups all purpose flour
¾ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 375 F

2. Melt butter and set aside to cool

IMG_3400

3. In a small bowl combine flour, baking soda and salt

IMG_3401

4. In a large bowl combine butter, sugars, vanilla eggs and chocolate chips – stir (no mixer for this one) until just combine – Do not over mix!!

IMG_3406

IMG_3408

5. Add your dry ingredients to the wet and stir with a wooden spoon.  Do not over mix!

IMG_3409

IMG_3410

6. Using a cookie scoop create 1.5 inch balls.  I weighed mine so they were all the same, 2 oz seemed right

IMG_3414

7. Bake 10-12 minutes.  I played with this a little, each batch a different time.  I found 15 minutes to be the most successful for my oven, the others were a tad undercooked

This was a batch for 10 minutes

IMG_3427

But they were undercooked and fell…

IMG_3424

After 15 minutes baking and they didn’t fall

IMG_3440

Thick and Chewy √

IMG_3444

The next day, still moist and chewy, did not dry out at all

IMG_3463

IMG_3456

The verdict – these chocolate chip cookies were great!  I really liked the taste of these cookies.  The texture was very nice, moist, but not ‘raw’.  They had lots of chocolate chips and stayed thick.  I like that there was no mixer required, good old bowl and wooden spoon.  These cookies were very easy to make.  I would make these again, I really liked them.  My testers (family and friends) enjoyed them as well. I have only tried one recipe, but I think this is a keeper!  Thanks to Like Mother Like Daughters for a great Chocolate Chip Cookie!

One thought on “My Chocolate Chip Cookie Challenge

Leave a Reply

