Bacon Wrapped Dates

IMG_3305

Ahhh Bacon……, who doesn’t love bacon?  It it is one of my favourite foods!  I refuse to keep bacon in the house because I will eat it ALL, no kidding, I could eat a whole pound and I have!  My favourite way to eat bacon is fried up and dipped in ketchup (my mouth is watering as we speak).  I have yet to find a bacon form that I didn’t like, I’ve had it in desserts, in appetizers, in meals, as meals, you name it, I’ve had it. This time of year (Christmas) seems to be ‘wrap things in bacon season’.  Mom usually makes bacon wrapped water chestnuts at Christmas, which are delicious, but lets face it, most anything wrapped in bacon is delicious!

These little mouthfuls of heaven were introduced to me by Gina.  I’m talking about ‘Bacon Wrapped Dates’ yes, dates!  When she first told me about them I really wasn’t sure what to think, dates? hmm… But I figured they had to be pretty good, they were wrapped in bacon! I don’t have a source to link tis one too other than to Gina, she told me what to do.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

20 pitted dates, cut in half
1 pound of bacon
cheese of choice
toothpicks

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper

2. Cut dates in half

IMG_3290

2. Fill dates with cheese of choice.  I used 2 different flavours of Chevre goat cheese from a local producer, Crosswind Farm, their cheeses are delicious! I used a Herbes de Provence and a hot pepper as well as a sharp cheddar

IMG_3296

IMG_3298

3. Cut bacon in half

IMG_3300

4. Place date on half slice of bacon, roll and hold together with a tooth pick

IMG_3301

IMG_3302

5. Place on prepared cookie sheet and bake until bacon is cooked to your desired crispness.  I like mine crisp, approx 30 mins

IMG_3303

6. Allow to cool a few minutes and enjoy!  They can also be made in advance and reheated in the microwave or in the oven at 300 F

IMG_3304

A word of advice, you  must try these, they are delicious! When I was making them I thought the dates might have been too dry but the ‘bacon juices’ soaked right into them and they were very moist.  The sweet of the date the salt of the bacon and the savory tang from the cheese went together like a sweet harmony. At first you taste the sweet of the date, then the salt of the bacon takes over and finally the tang of the cheese mellows everything together.  These were a huge hit!  Even people who were very skeptical really enjoyed them.  They will definitely be making it into the recipe book.  Warning: they are addicting and go fast, make lots!

Thanks Gina!

Leave a Reply

