Watermelon Salad

I stepped outside of my comfort zone today, well actually I did a triple back flip and an Irish Jig when I landed, and made Watermelon Salad!!  There wasn’t any sugar, chocolate or flour, amazing that I even attempted it, really.  Anyways….

It was a year or so ago when I first saw a ‘Watermelon Salad’, it really peaked my interest.  More and more they were popping up, and I kept saying ‘I’d like to try that’.  I have been asking around and no one that I knew had tried it.  I was hoping for someone to tell me either way to see if it was worth a try.  I looked up a lot of different recipes and they were all basically the same, watermelon, feta, onions, mint and a dressing.  The one thing that really got me was feta? really? Feta and Watermelon? how could this be good? Well, today was the day, I was going to try it! Being that I wasn’t sure, I scaled down the recipe only using 1 cup of melon and a 1/6 of everything else.

Watermelon Salad

Adapted from Fresh Tastes

Ingredients

  • 6 cups cubed watermelon
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • ¼ cup thinly sliced red onion
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh mint
  • ¼ cup fresh lime juice
  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

Directions

1. Combine watermelon, feta cheese, red onion, and mint in a large bowl.


2. Pour the lime juice and olive oil over the watermelon mixture and toss gently to coat.
3. Serve immediately.

I was pleasantly surprised, it was pretty good!  The feta and watermelon went together better than I expected, they seem to complement each other.  The watermelon seems to cut the salt and tang of the feta. The onions gave it a bit of a bite and a nice citrus zing with the lime dressing.  Next time, I think I will omit the mint.  Maybe I just added too much but it did give me a very overpowering mint flavour.  Reminded me too much of Gum.  A lovely fresh and refreshing salad I will be making again!

Leave a Reply

