Dill Pickle Dip

Dill Pickles, you love them or you hate them, I LOVE them! I love anything dill, dill pickle chips, dill pickle popcorn, dill seasoning on veggies or meats and the list goes on.  When I have a dill pickle they must be  either homemade (Gramma makes a good one) or Bick’s, there is really no comparison in my opinion.  There is a wide variety out there but none measure up to the tangy Bick’s Dill Pickle.  I just hate those ones they send out of a plate of food at most restaurants that smell like bad breath and taste even wrose…really what do you put in a pickle to make it smell like that?? It should smell of dill and garlic, not bad breath or feet.

I came across this recipe for Homemade Dill Pickle Dip. I like dill pickle dip, but my Dad LOVES it!  Most people I know don’t really like dill dips, they don’t know what to dip in it.  I dip most anything it dill dip, pretzels, veggies, crackers, but by far, the best thing to dip in dill pickle dip is Salt and Vinegar chips!! (my mouth just salivated).  I know, I know it sounds weird, but TRY IT!  I think it’s because they are both so tangy the combination is amazing (seriously, my taste buds are going crazy here).  I knew as soon as I saw this recipe I was going to make it for Dad.

Dill Pickle Dip

from veryculinary.com via Pinterest

Ingredients
• 1 (8 ounce) package of cream cheese, softened to room temperature
• 1 cup finely chopped dill pickles
• 1/4 cup finely chopped sweet onion
• 3 tablespoons pickle juice
• 1 teaspoon dried dill weed
• 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
• pinch black pepper

Directions

1. Beat softened cream cheese, pickle juice, dill weed, salt and pepper with electric beater until smooth and well combined

2. With a spatula fold in remaining chopped pickles and onions

Dip can be stored, tightly covered in the refrigerator, up to a week (although it will loosen as the days go by.)

Serve with veggies, pretzels, spread on sandwiches or chips (especially Salt and Vinegar)

This dip was very good!  I do think that my dill may have been a little old, as it could have been a little stronger.  I will be making this again with new dill to see if that makes a difference.  Dad loved it!  definitely a hit around here and will be made many more times.

3 thoughts on “Dill Pickle Dip

  1. Yum! Tired it this weekend, and it was a home-run. Thanks for posting! P.S. Have you tired Vlasic pickles?

Leave a Reply

