German Chocolate Cake

Up until a few years ago I had never heard of German Chocolate Cake.  I think the first time I saw one was on the Food Network, I believe it was Bobby Fley’s Throwdown.  I knew, right then, it was something I was going to have to make.  If you will notice, it is #1 on my “Bucket List of Baking”.  Over the past few years I have done much research on this cake.  At first I thought that the Germans must have been some pretty spectacular people to come up with a dessert like this!  Chocolate, coconut, walnuts need I say more?  As I researched I found out it was not the Germans at all!  It was an American, Sam German, who created a brand of dark baking chocolate that was used for the cake.  Now a days very few recipes actually call for the German’s Chocolate (I didn’t use it).  It is more the process and final outcome that we refer to as German Chocolate Cake.  Quite frankly, I don’t care who created it, or what it is called, all I know is that it is FABULOUS!!

This Easter I decided I was going to make it for dessert. For those crazy coconut haters (I know eh, who doesn’t like coconut?) and someone with an allergy (who knew?) I made an apple crisp.  That is the last you will hear of the apple crisp, it was very dull and boring compared to this wonderful German Chocolate Cake!

While researching the cake I found literally thousands of recipes!  Which one do I choose? I mixed and matched a few to come up with my own version.

German Chocolate Cake

Chocolate Cake

For the Chocolate cake I used the recipe I have perfected.  I used the cake recipe from The Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake, with a few tweaks that I choose not to share (can’t give away all my secrets;)). Please check it out it is a fabulous chocolate cake!!

Follow Chocolate Cake recipe from my previous post here or use your favourite chocolate cake recipe.  Just make sure the recipe is big enough to have 3 layers.

Frosting

This is where I had the most difficulty, there were several different recipes.  The big difference in them was the use of evaporated milk, cream, whipping cream or sweetened condensed milk.  After much debate I went with the sweetened condensed milk version, because really, it has Eagle Brand Milk in it, it has to be good!

I am a firm believer in saving where you can, but with somethings you just have to go with the Brand name, simply put, it is just better.  When ever sweetened condensed milk is called for I ONLY use Eagel Brand Milk.  Honestly I could eat it right from the can!

COCONUT PECAN FROSTING

1 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk
3 egg yolks, slightly beaten
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-1/3 cups Sweetened Coconut Flakes
1 cup chopped pecans

Directions

1. Stir together sweetened condensed milk, egg yolks and butter in a medium saucepan.

2. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is thickened and bubbly. (This took approx 40 minutes of constant stirring.  Next time I would not take it as far, it stiffened up a little too much when cooled)

3. Remove from heat; stir in vanilla, coconut and pecans.

I could not resist tasting it while it was still warm. OMG! Delicious! It was one of those moments when you stop chewing and close your eyes because you think it was the best thing you have ever eaten.  This would be good on a lot of desserts, I can definitely see adding this to a few creations. Enough of that tangent on with the cake…

4. Cool to room temperature.

Assembly

1. Place your first layer of chocolate cake on your cake plate and top with approx 2/3 cup of coconut pecan frosting.  Mine was a little thick, had to pull it apart with 2 forks.

2. Repeat with the next 2 layers, spreading remaning frosting on top layer

Look at that!!!

As delicious as it looks, to me, it just doesn’t look finished, something else is needed! If you look at most German Chocolate Cake recipes they do not have a chocolate frosting on them.  It will usually just have the coconut pecan frosting between they layers and on top, occasionally you will see it around the outside as well.  I had to take it a step further and add a delicious chocolate frosting to the outside.

That looks better!

It is a thing of beauty!

A few pecans to spruce it up a little

I have had a lot of cake in my day but this, by far, was the best!  The chocolate cake was moist and fudgy.  The pecan coconut frosting was sweet and had a nice texture, you didn’t really taste the nuts just the coconut.  The chocolate frosting, probably the best I have ever had.  The 3 aspects together were spectacular!!! Normally I can pick apart most things I make saying I would do this and that different next time, not this one, it was perfect!  It was well worth the wait and lived up to every expectation I had.  Definitely will be making this again.  I think I will even make German Chocolate Cupcakes! I hope everyone at Easter dinner enjoyed it as much as I did 🙂

I must also mention the delicious dinner Mom made for Easter.  She outdid herself once again.  The entire dinner was cooked out on the bbq’s.  We had roast beef, ham with pineapples and sweet sauce, corn, beans, veggie casserole, coleslaw and buns. Was delicious!

Even re-heated the apple crisp on the bbq

There was 20 of us and we all sat down at the table to enjoy a wonderful Easter Dinner.  Thanks Mom!

One thought on “German Chocolate Cake

  1. OMG! That cake looks amazing! I almost licked my computer screen 🙂 Hats off to your Mom for the lovely feast she prepared.

Leave a Reply

