Daring Bakers make Quick Breads

The Daring Bakers’ February 2012 host was – Lis! Lisa stepped in last minute and challenged us to create a quick bread we could call our own. She supplied us with a base recipe and shared some recipes she loves from various websites and encouraged us to build upon them and create new flavor profiles.

I was excited to see this months challenge, Quick Breads.  I love quick breads, they are so easy and are quite similar to cake!

Quick bread is an American term used to denote a type of bread which is leavened with leavening agents other than yeast. Quick bread includes many cakes, brownies and cookies, as well as banana bread, beer bread, cornbread, biscuits, muffins, pancakes, scones, and soda bread.

When the challenge was announced I had huge ambitions!  I wanted to make several different flavours such as banana, lemon, chocolate, pumpkin, cheddar and beer.  Then I realized, if I make all those I will eat them all, and I don’t need that!  I decided I would go with one, a recipe that I remember my Mom used to make when I was little, zucchini bread.

Mom did not do much baking when I was growing up.  She is an amazing cook but had no interest in baking.  This recipe was one that I remember her making quite a few times, quick, easy and delicious!

Mom’s Zucchini Loaf

3 eggs
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 cup oil
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups shredded, unpeeled zucchini
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp salt 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup walnuts

Directions

1. Preheat oven 350 F

2. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg

3.  In a large bowl beat eggs well

4. Add sugar, oil and vanilla – beat

5. Stir in zucchini

6. Add dry ingredients  and nuts (I dont like big pieces of nuts in my dessert but I like the flavour so I grind mine up) –  stir

7. Divide into 2 8×4 loaf pans and bake 50-60 minutes or until tester comes out clean

8. Remove from pans and cool on rack

The loaf turned out beautiful!  The aroma coming from the oven while it baked was amazing, just how I remembered when I was young.  The loaf was moist.  The flavour combination was wonderful!  I’m so glad I decided to go with Mom’s loaf.  I had not had it in probably 15 years, but I can see making it again sometime soon!

Thanks Lis for a wonderful challenge!

12 thoughts on “Daring Bakers make Quick Breads

  1. Zucchini bread is not very well known in my country, but I have seen it a lot on the web and have to say that I’m tempted to give it a try. You did a great job, with very clear step by step pictorial. I agree with you, this month’s challenge really tempted everyone on making several loaves… very dangerous :o)

    1. Lovely loaf, it looks yummy! Using your mom’s recipe is so sweet 🙂 Great job!

      Renata, I’m with you, in my country zucchini bread is not well known either, and most people will say there’s no way they are going to try _that_… but I have, a couple of times, and just LOVE it 🙂 So do give it a try!

  2. What a charming posting a childhood recipe can really make you feel so happy I’m so glad that the loaf worked out so beautifully, a great job on this challenge. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  3. I love zucchini bread! It smells heavenly while it is baking. I had zucchini bread and muffins coming out of my ears this fall because we grew zucchini in our garden and this was one way to use it up. I too wanted to try a lot more quick breads but knew I’d have to eat them. As it was, I put some into the freezer for later after slicing off a few pieces. Nice job on the challenge!

  4. I am also glad I didn’t have time to make many different loaves, the one recipe was enough for both of us! Your zucchini bread looks great, I know I will be making some over the summer once my garden is in full bloom.

Leave a Reply

