Applesauce Muffins

 

Mom and I were at Gramma and Poppa’s the other day and she was just in the midst of making some homemade muffins!  This was right up my ally, I offered to help and was turned down flat, several times.  I now realize where I got my ‘not so organized, disaster stricken, kitchen looking like a hurricane went threw’ baking style from 🙂  There was stuff everywhere, just like when I bake.  But I gotta say, it is much more fun baking when you are not worrying about the mess you make and cleaning it up after then trying to be neat and tidy and not spill a drop.  Sorta like never trust a skinny chef, never trust a tidy baker! lol Anyways…..

I don’t know if it is just me, but it seems that everything Gramma makes is just fabulous!  Not sure if it just because it is someone else making it (always tastes better when someone else makes it) or if it is because it has that Gramma love in it (which would be all the good stuff, butter, lard, no imitation crap!)  Either way everything at Gramma’s is always tasty and very hard, if not impossible to turn down!

So, back to the muffins.  I was over visiting on my lunch and time was tight, I didn’t think there would be time for me to try them.  As luck would have it, they came out of th oven 5 minutes before I had to go.  Man, was I glad, they were delicious! I took an extra one home, but it wasn’t eaten by 8 pm, so I ate it too!  The next day I had to make them, I had all the ingredients in the house, so why not!

Applesauce Muffins

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup Brown Sugar (loosely packed)

1 egg

1 cup Flour

1/2 tsp Cinnamon (we used almost 1 tsp)

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup apple sauce (we used closer to a cup)

1/2 cup raisins

1 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts)

Directions – Pre-heat oven 350 F

1. Cream butter and brown sugar

2. Beat in the egg

3. Sift all dry ingredients

4. alternately add dry ingredients and applesauce, string after each addition

5. Stir in raisins, nuts, and oats

6. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full, makes 12 muffins

7. Bake approx 25-30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean

8.  Cool on rack

They were delicious!  Again, not as good as Gramma’s, but they’ll do.  So moist and flavourful. This will definitely be my new ‘go to’ muffin.

Thanks Gramma

One thought on “Applesauce Muffins

Leave a Reply

