Perogi Day

A few years ago I had my first homemade perogi, I could not believe how much better they were then the frozen store-bought ones.  It was then that I decided I wanted to try to make them one day, even added them to my “Buck List of Baking”.  Last Christmas when Mom and I got together with Etta to make our Christmas cake we decided our next cooking adventure would be perogies.  We figured we would do it in February.  Well….February past as did March, April and the summer.  Heading into fall I made everyone pick a date we could get together or I knew it would not happen.  October 22 was decided on as Perogi Day.  None of us had ever made a perogi so for most of the day we were flying by the seat of our pants.  I did not get as many pictures as I would have liked, as it was mad kaos for a while everyone was doing something different, it was nuts!  Also, it was a drab, rainy day so the ones I did get didn’t turn out so well. Anyways here was our Perogi Day adventures!

9:00 A.M

I arrive at Mom and Dads, with what I thought was all I needed to bring, I was wrong, had to head home a few times (good thing I live close).  Then had to head to the Store for a couple more things…We are convinced at this point we have everything we need

10:00 A.M

We patiently (well, not so patiently) are waiting for our cooking partners Etta and Jen to arrive.  Got a call at 10:12 SOMEONE ***Cough***Etta***Cough slept in!!!  Not wanting to be too far behind Mom and I got a start on a few things.

11:00 A.M

They arrive and are put right to work! lol First we start peeling a 10 pound bag of potatoes to get them boiling to get our fillings made. Next step is the dough

Now you must remember that none of us have made perogies before and we keep asking each other questions like one of us is going to know the answer.  So I just started answering like I did know the answers, haha.  Once Etta made the executive decision of which dough we were going to make, we were under way

Linda’s Sour Cream Perogi Dough

4 cups Flour

3 eggs

1 cup sour cream

dash salt

water as needed

That was all the information we had.  What the texture was supposed to be, we had no idea.  This was one of those times where we were looking for answers, that no one had, it got quite comical at times.  We even called Linda for guidance, BUT she wasn’t home.  We had to wing it.  This is what we did.

1. In large bowl measure flour

2. in a medium bowl lightly beat eggs

3. Add sour cream and stir

4. Add to flour

5. Stir until all comes together, then knead with your hands

6. Wrap in plastic wrap and let sit in fridge for at least half hour

Through out the day Etta made 13 batches of dough! 13!!!

Fillings

For the fillings we didn’t follow a recipe we just went with flavours we like.  Half way through the making of the fillings we realized we didn’t have enough potatoes so out I went to get another 10 pound bag plus we used 5 pounds that Mom had

We made…

1. Homemade Mac n’ Cheese

2. Potato and Cheese

3. Cheese (Ricotta)

4. potato, Cheese and onion

5. potato, Cheese and Bacon

6. Cheese and onion

7. potato Cheese and Garlic

Rolling the Dough

(This was my job, rolled all 13 batches!)

So, now let me go on a bit of a tangent.  For months I search and search for perogie makers, and I mean searched!  I had always seen them, until I wanted one.  A few months ago I finally found them, so I bought 2!  It was at this point I bring out the little contraption thinking it was the best thing ever invented, the bottom cuts the perfect sized, then it folds and seals….

Beautiful! a perfect perogi! BUT it took forever! We quickly realized looking at the 7 bowls of fillings that this little contraption was worthless, we would be here for days!  So this my friends was the one and only, admire its beauty, I was quite proud 🙂

We then decided we would set up and assembly line.  Etta was making the dough and on clean up.  I was rolling and cutting the dough.  Jen was filling the dough and Mom was sealing the perogi.  We had quite the set up.

While we were rolling and stuffing and sealing, and rolling and stuffing and sealing and rolling and stuffing and sealing, Etta made a perogi casserole.  We all thought it sounded wonderful, so we gave it a go! There are zero pictures of this process as I was busy rolling and did not notice or even know this was happening 😦

PEROGIE CASSEROLE

15 lasagna noodles
4 cups cottage cheese (or ricotta if you can’t handle the idea of cottage cheese!)
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. onion powder
2 cups shredded cheddar
4 cups mashed potatoes
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 cup butter
1 large onion, chopped
sour cream

1. Cook noodles according to package directions. Drain.

2. Line bottom of casserole dish with 5 noodles.

3. Mix ricotta cheese, egg, and onion powder in bowl.

4. Spread over noodles.

5. Cover with another layer of 5 noodles.

6. In same bowl mix cheddar cheese with mashed potatoes. Add onion and black pepper. Spread over noodles.

7. Top with a layer of the remaining noodles.

8. Saute chopped onion in butter until transparent and soft. Pour over casserole.

9. Bake 45 minutes at 350 degrees.

Let stand 10 minutes before cutting. Serve with sour cream (optional).

The casserole was ok.  Probably would not make it again.  If I did I would use different ingredients, reduce the amount of onions and add bacon.

6:30 P.M

Finally finished rolling (at this point the rolling-pin felt about 30 pounds), stuffing and sealing

25 pounds of potatoes, 7 tubs or sour cream, almost 2 bags of flour and a lot of bacon, cheese and onions we ended up with, get ready for it……471 perogies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Finally done rolling and stuffing and sealing.  These trays are double and some tripped stacked

7:00 P.M

We got most things cleaned up and sort them out for everyone to take home and get into the freezer, but WAIT, we need to try them.  A few times throughout the day we kept bringing up that perhaps we should try a few to see if they were any good.  It would be a bugger if we got them all done and they were horrible!

Time to try a few…

Saute onions and bacon to serve with perogies

The Verdict

These were quite possibly the best perogies I have had.  The dough was wonderful, tender with a wonderful flavour.  Our fillings were bang on.  Not sure I could pick a favourite.  We decided all that work was well worth it and we will do it again.  We also decided that it was way to much work so we wont be taking requests, hahaha.  We will be savoring these ones, which is going to be hard as they are soo good.

9:00 P.M

Finish helping get the house back in order and finally arrived home.  A full 12 hours and I am pooped!

Thanks Mom, Etta and Jen, it was a fantastic day, lots of laughs and good times.  Looking forward to our next cooking adventure, hopefully we can start on time 😉

5 thoughts on “Perogi Day

  1. sounds great!! I love perogies and now i want one ….sigh.,,,, are you sure you wont take requests,, lol

    do you have a good recipe for christmas cake i want to try to make it this year!!

    also i have a great recipe for perogi casserole that is WAY different from yours but really good.. i will send it to you if you are interested in trying it!

  2. As much as getting together for a cooking adventure must have been so much fun, you guys were really brave to start at 9 and finish 12 hours later… WOW!! But I also believe it was worth every minute, including the 30 lb rolling pin!! They look really delicious!!

Leave a Reply

