Cheddar Shortbread Bites

I was having one of those days where I wanted to bake something, but lord knows I don’t need anything!  Sometimes I just get in the mood to bake, it seems to calm me, I find it very relaxing.  After mulling around a few ideas I asked Mom if she wanted me to make her something, muffins, scones whatever.  Initially she said no, but a few minutes later presented me with a recipe for a cheese shortbread.  That peaked my interest.  After looking at the very short list of ingredients we discovered that between the 2 of us we only had half of the recipe, so I used the cheese and spices I had, which are listed below.

Cheddar Shortbread Bites

1/2 cup butter softened

1 tsp sugar

1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated

1 cup flour

1 tsp  parsley

1/2 tsp paprika

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F and cover a cookie sheet with parchment paper

2. Beat butter and sugar until well blended

3. Add cheese, mix well

4. In a separate bowl, mix flour and spices, add to cheese mixture, stir until well combine (I found I had to use my hands to mix it well)

5. Divide dough in half and roll, on a lightly floured surface, each half into a 9 inch log

6. Slice approx.  half-inch

7. Place on prepared cookie sheet

8. Bake until golden brown, mine took well over 30 minutes

9. cool on rack

These were very good!  Everyone liked them, I could see them being addicting, luckily they were shipped down to Mom’s. They were crispy, but almost tender in the middle.  The sharp cheese really gave it a punch.  I will definitely make these again and try a few different cheeses with different seasonings.  And perhaps get the ingredients to make the original recipe!

 

One thought on “Cheddar Shortbread Bites

Leave a Reply

