Whoopie Pies

Whoopie Pies, ever heard of them?  Apparently they were all the craze a while ago, I just now am jumping on the Whoopie Pie bandwagon.  I tend to waste A LOT of time looking at baking blogs, too much time really.  I love to see what people create and find things to add to my “Bucket List of Baking”.   In the last little while I have seen a lot of these little treats.  At first I mistook them for those horrible French Macaroons, but they could not be further from that, they are Whoopie Pies.

I dove right in, looking all around trying to find out just what a Whoopie Pie is. I even went to Chapters and got their very last copy of “woopie pies” by Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell.  This is what I found.

Whoopie Pies apparently originated in Maine and in Pennsylvania as  “Gobs”.   The classic Whoopie Pie is made up of a wonderful fluffy marshmallow filling sandwiched between a chocolate cake/cookie.  Now days there are many varieties of whoopie pies such as lemon, pumpkin, red velvet…the list goes on.

According to food historians, Amish women would bake these desserts (known as hucklebucks at the time) and put them in farmers’ lunchboxes. When farmers would find the treats in their lunch, they would shout “Whoopie!”

As for the Pennsylvania Gob it is believe that Miners used to take these inside out cakes in the mines with them, and they looked like lumps of coal that were referred to as Gobs.

I have read the book cover to cover and the next day started my very first Whoopie Pie!  I was quite excited but nervous at the same time because I didn’t even know if I would like them.  How could I go wrong, if I like them I’ll have many resipes to try and if I don’t like them, well its a cute book to add to my recipe collection.

Classic Chocolate Whoopie Pie

1 2/3 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 cups baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

4 tbsp butter, room temperature

4 tbsp vegetable shortening

1 cup brown sugar packed

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup milk

1. Preheat oven 375 F and cover 2 baking sheets with parchment paper,

2. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt on a sheet of parchment paper

3. Using a stand mixer with the paddle attachment on low speed mix the butter, shortening and brown sugar, just until combined

4. Increase the speed to medium and beat until fluffy and smooth, about 3 minutes

5. Add egg and vanilla and beat for another 2 minutes

6. Add half of the flour mixture and half of the milk to the batter and beat on low until just incorporated

7. Add the remaining flour mixture and the rest of the mil and beat until completely combined

Just look at that batter, how amazing does that look?!?!  I tasted it and it was fabulous 😉

8. Using a spoon, drop about one tbsp of batter onto one of the prepared baking sheets, at least 2 inches apart.  *next time I would use a level spoon, they were a little big*

Before Baking

9. Bake for 10 minutes

After Baking

10.  Let cook 5 minutes on the pan then transfer to a cooling rack until cooled completely

It was late so I decided to pack them up and finish them the next day.  Putting them back on the pan and tightly wrapping them with plastic wrap worked perfect.  The texture was still as good the next day, still very fresh.  Now before I packed them all up for the night you know I had to try one! haha.  They were delicious!!! the texture was amazing.  It is denser than a cake, but softer then a cookie.  I referred to it as a “Cakie”.  Seriously at this point I could have just sat down and ate them, forget the filling….but we only had one, well 2 because then the numbers were uneven 😉

Classic Marshmallow Filling

As much as they insist you must use “Fluff” I could only find “Jet Puffed”.  To me it is all the same

1 1/2 cups Marshmallow Fluff (or Jet Puffed)

1 1/4 cups vegetable shortening

1 cup icing sugar

1 tbsp  vanilla extract (I used clear to keep it nice and white)

*I only made half of this recipe, I halved it*

I forgot to take pictures of this process, to be honest I was a little excited to get them done **hangs head in shame**

1. Using your stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat the fluff and the shortening, start on a low setting then increase to medium mixing until smooth and fluffy, about 3 minutes

2. Lower speed back to low and add vanilla and icing sugar

3. beat on low until incorporated

4. increase to medium and beat until fluffy, about 3 more minutes

I was trying to get as many tastings as possible out of one batch so I halved the marshmallow cream and made a batch of classic butter cream.  I split the butter cream into 3 bowls, added peanut butter to one, mint extract to another and kept the 3rd as butter cream

Assembly

You can spread the filling on but as the pictures suggests it looks a lot nicer when you pipe it on

1. Fill piping bag with your chosen filling

2. Pipe as much filling as you like on your whoppie, as the book says there is no wrong amount

3. place another “cakie” on top and press down gently

The Classic Chocolate Whoopie Pie with Marshmallow

Classic Whoopie with Peanut Butter

Classic Whoopie with Mint

Classic Whoopie with Butter Cream

The verdict? WOW these were delicious!  My favourite so far is the Classic Whoopie with the Marshmallow,which I refered to as a “Gourmet Jo-Louis”,  but I can’t wait to play around and come up with different combinations.

This one was only on the bucket list for 2 days before successfully completing it. I am hooked. I can see why they are a huge craze.  I will definitely be making more of these. Maybe it wasn’t such a good idea that I bought the book…..

Leave a Reply

