French Toast Cassarole

I saw this recipe in our local newspaper and thought it looked tasty.  I love french toast, but I normally dip it in Ketchup, yes ketchup!  When you eat eggs and toast or have a toasted western do you dip it in syrup? no! you dip it in ketchup! So far me and my Dad are the only ones who think this way.  Anyways…..no ketchup in this one but thought I would give it a try.

Ingredients

1 loaf bread

8 eggs

2 cups half & half

2 cups milk

1/4 cup maple or pancake syrup

2 tsp 1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground allspice

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup golden corn syrup

1/4 cup butter, melted

Directions

1. Cube loaf and spread over the bottom of a greased 13 x 9” (3.5 L) baking dish.

2. Whisk eggs in a large bowl.

3. Add half & half, milk, syrup, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice; whisk until combined.

4. Pour mixture over bread. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

5. Just before baking, combine brown sugar, corn syrup and butter; whisk until blended. Drizzle over bread mixture.

6. Bake in a preheated 350F (190C) oven until puffed and golden brown, about an hour.

7. Cut into pieces and serve drizzled with syrup.

This recipe didn’t turn out great but I think it was my fault.  I cut the recipe in half because it was going to make way to much, but I think I may have not halved one of the liquids.  It was very wet and gooey.  The top was burning and the middle seemed still raw…

The top crunchy part was quite tasty.  I think I will give it another try being very careful with my measurements.

One thought on “French Toast Cassarole

Leave a Reply

