Pumpkin Pie

This year for Thanksgiving I wanted to try making pumpkin pies from real pumpkin, not canned pumpkin.  I really do not care for pumpkin pie so I had to rely on some taste testers to let me know how it turned out.   I played around with a few recipes and tweaked them all a bit to come up with what I was told to be “The Best Pumpkin Pie EVER”, I will take their word for it because I thought it was gross!

Pumpkin Pie

Preparing the Pumpkin

These were some tough pumpkins, I tried to cut into them with a knife and it just wasnt working, I was afraid I was going to cut my fingers off.  So, down I go to Mom and Dads and we took the electric saw to them, new blade of course.  My only regret is I didn’t take pictures of this process, we had pumpkin bits flying everywhere! lol  Though it did bring a nice pumpkin fresh smell to the boathouse.

1. Cut pumpkins in half and scrape out all the seeds and goo.  Place them on a foil covered cookie sheet and bake at 350 F until soft.  This will very depending on your oven.

2. Scrape out the flesh with a spoon and run it though the food processor until very smooth, you don’t want stringy pumpkin pie…

I broke my food processor in the process.  It was my Nana’s so I’m sure it had to be over 40 years old, but I improvised and made it work by pushing the lock down with a chopstick. Needless to say a food processor is on my Christmas list this year.

The pumpkin was quite watery, I let it sit in a strainer lined with cheese cloth and lost a lot of the moisture, I would recommend doing this.

Filling

  • 3 cups of puree pumpkin
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2  tsp clove
  • 1/2  tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 can of evaporated milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix well with beaters and pour in pie shell of our choice

Bake at 425 F for 15 minutes then lower the temperature to 350 F and bake for another 45-60 minutes, depending on your oven, until a knife inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Apparently it was very good and made a real difference using the real pumpkin.  I’ve been told I am on pumpkin pie duty from now on, so they must have been not bad.

Leave a Reply

