Butter Tart Pie

If you are from Canada I am sure you have tasted a butter tart.  Everyone I have talked with outside of Canada has no idea what I am talking about when I speak of butter tarts.  I consider myself a butter tart expert, as there are not many I have not tasted.  I prefer them to be runny and contain raisins.   I have never been able to make a good butter tart, even using the exact recipe that someone else makes wonderfully.  I found this recipe in baking flyer that was in the newspaper last week.

Butter Tart Pie

Filling

  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 1/4 cups BeeHive Corn Syrup
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup butter melted
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions

1.  Pre-heat oven 425 F

2. Sprinkle raisins over pie shell (homemade or frozen, your choice)

3. Whisk corn syrup with sugar, eggs, butter, lemon juice, vanilla and salt.

4. Pour into pie shell

5. Bake on a lower rack of preheated oven for 15 minutes.

6. Reduce temperature for 350 F and bake for 20-25 minutes until the top appears set, (it may be bubbly).

7. Let stand 15 minutes before slicing.

This pie was pretty good.  It was not bet best butter tart filling, but not bad.  Everyone said they really liked it, and there is not much left.  Probably won’t be making this one again.

Leave a Reply

