Hummus

Picture 004

Hummus!  How I love thee…  I used to make hummus all the time, but for some reason it has been probably a few years since I have made a batch.    I have been getting tired of the same old veggie dips so I thought I would whip up something home made.

When I used to make hummus I never put in the Tahini (sesame seed paste)  and it always tasted very good.  This time I thought I would try it….well…it makes all the difference in the world.  It tastes so authentic and has amazing flavour.  This will definitely be a staple for me.

I didnt follow a recipe just put in flavours I like

1 can chickpeas drained and rinsed (keep the liquid to add in later)

1 clove of garlic (it was a big one)

4 tsp tahini

pinch cumin

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

pinch of salt

Combine all ingredients in food processor/blender (I used the bullet) and add reserved liquid until desired smoothness.  I like mine a little chunky.

Such a great snack.  The flavour possibilities are endless…

Leave a Reply

