Peanut Butter Cookies

IMG_5749

For this weeks treat for work I went with Peanut Butter Cookies.  I have never made ‘real’ peanut butter cookies before, I have made the 3 ingredient Kraft ones, but not the real thing.  I found a couple recipes that looked really good.  I picked this recipe because I had all the ingredients.  This recipe is from Arctic Studio Garden.  The name of this one caught my attention, Bake Shoppe Peanut Butter Cookies.  I did make an addition of chocolate chips!

Bake Shoppe Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from Arctic Studio Garden

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup creamy peanut butter
3/4 cup crunchy peanut butter

Directions:

**NOTE: Dough should chill for 3 hours before baking

1. Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and set aside.

IMG_5707
2. In the bowl of a stand mixer cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy (this should take about 5 minutes on medium speed).

IMG_5708

IMG_5711

3. Scrape down the edges of the bowl with a rubber spatula as needed.  Add eggs and vanilla and beat until thoroughly incorporated, about 3 minutes.

IMG_5712

4. Beat in the peanut butter, both creamy and crunchy until thoroughly combined. (I only had creamy, so I just used 1 3/4 cup if it)

IMG_5716

IMG_5714

5. Slowly add dry ingredients with the mixer on low-speed. Mix until all the ingredients are well combined, but be careful not to over mix. As soon as the dry ingredients are incorporated, turn off the mixer.

IMG_5719

*5b. I added chocolate chips, mix on lowest speed to combine.

IMG_5721

6. Scoop the dough into a covered container and refrigerate for about 3 hours before baking the cookies.

Really wish I had noticed this part of the recipe when skimming over the ingredients.  I did not start making them until 6 pm.  Needless to say, these did get refrigerated for 3 hours, only about 1.5 hours.

IMG_5722

7. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

8. Line the top cookie sheet with parchment and drop the dough in 1/4 cup balls onto the baking sheet. Space about three inches apart.

IMG_5724

9. Flatten each ball slightly and use a fork to give it the criss cross pattern.

IMG_5730
10. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes until the edges are golden brown. Let them sit on the baking sheet to cool for a few minutes before transferring to a rack to cool completely.

IMG_5736

Look at the size of these cookies, they more than doubled in size!

IMG_5743

They look delicious!

IMG_5737

These were pretty good.  I am not a huge fan of peanut butter cookies.  It’s not that I don’t like them, I just would prefer a chocolate chip or an oatmeal cookie.  The texture was not as I was expecting.  The only peanut butter cookies I have had were all soft, these were different.  These cookies had a bit of a crunch to them.  The outside had a crisp shell and the centre was a little more soft.  I would say they are comparable to some chocolate chip cookies. They were also not very sweet, maybe this is why I was not a huge fan.  When I think cookie I want a sweet treat!  I will make these again, they were a hit.  Although, I will make them smaller, I was not expecting them to get that big!

3 Responses to Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Caribelle509 says:

    Did they come out crunchy or soft?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

