Butter Tarts

I would have to say that Butter Tarts are my all time favourite dessert.  If there is two deserts to choose from and Butter Tarts are one of the choices, Butter tarts will always win.   It was not until I traveled outside of Canada that I learned that Butter Tarts are traditionally a Canadian treat.  Let me tell you right now, the rest of you are missing out!!!  Even though they are called Butter Tarts, it’s not the butter that makes them so good its the brown sugar, and there is a lot of it.  If you don’t like things too sweet then Butter Tarts are not for you.

A true Butter Tart has very few ingredients, butter, sugar and eggs but there are many types depending what you fill them with.  Some like to add pecans, coconut, jam or raisins.  I like them all but the ones with nuts, nuts are for squirrels, not desserts!

In my lifetime I have consumed more than my fair share of Butter Tarts and consider myself to be a Butter Tart connoisseur.  I will eat just about any Butter Tart but I prefer a runny filling with raisins.  Over the years I have perfected the way in which I will eat a Butter Tart depending whether it is runny or firm.  The ones with firm filling, with consistency of a lemon tart) I will eat the crust all round the outside leaving only the bottom crust with a huge mount of filling to be savored.  As for the runny ones there is only one way to eat them, as fast as you can so you don’t lose any filling.  It isn’t pretty but necessary!

As I have tried many tarts my favourites have changed over the years but none have ever measured up to this one, Thanks to my good friend Lisa!  It is perfect, few ingredients, amazing flavour, sugary crunch on the bottom and oh so runny!!  When she makes them it is one thing I can not resist.  She was kind enough to share her recipe with me.

Lisa’s Butter Tarts

If you are a follower of mine then you will know I can’t make pie crust to save my life, until making Pasta Frolla in a recent Daring Baker’s Challenge.  I decided to go with the Pasta Frolla crust for my tarts.

For pastry recipe click here

As for the Butter Tart recipe you will just get pictures until I ask if I can post the recipe.

I only added raisins in a few because not everyone likes raisins in them.  But now it really doesn’t matter because they sunk to the bottom and I can’t tell.

They turned out perfectly

Look at that perfect runny filling.  Note that this is not my tart as I would NEVER eat a Butter Tart with a fork!  That is just silly.  I prefer the inhale it method so you don’t waste any..haha

In the words of my Father “that was the best Butter Tart I ever had”

Thanks Lisa!!!!

2 Responses to Butter Tarts

  1. Hello,
    Would you be so kind as to share with me the recipe for the Butter tarts – the filling that is as I have your pasta frolla recipe.
    I would swap some premium tea with you and your friend if you would like for the recipe.
    Thank you.

    Sincerely,

    Mary Ann

  2. Tanya says:

    Please please… I have been searching for a butter tart recipe with a crunchy bottom… My elderly mother talks about them all the time;) I would be so grateful to have your recipe to make these for her! Could you please share??
    crawfordtanya@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

